PDA

View Full Version : External Control not working??



Stephen Bailey
03-10-2003, 02:15 PM
Can anyone think of any reasons why the External Control module wouldn't work?

We've had it working in the past, but after an upgrade we lost it and haven't been able to get it back. The cable runs from Com2 to our Beta Deck, and the deck is set to remote. Device manager sees the port as being OK.

Not sure where to turn at this point. Bad cable?

SGB

RomainR
03-10-2003, 02:41 PM
Verry stupid questions on my behalf, but you never know.

Is you deck in remote mode?

Could the 9 pin be slightly unpulgged?

Stephen Bailey
03-10-2003, 02:49 PM
Yep, deck is set to remote.

I guess I'm fishing for some preference setting that I may have missed. When it was working (last December), I think we just plugged in and went. No problems.

RomainR
03-10-2003, 03:00 PM
Sometimes it's just a question of rebooting and being twice as stubborn as T[2]. :D

Faraz
03-11-2003, 09:45 PM
Just to confirm that its not a Video Toaster issue, or if it is. You might want to test to see if it works with Speed Razor. If it does then something needs to be tweaked with Toaster software. If not then something is worung outside of the toaster.

tmon
03-12-2003, 02:49 AM
It is VERY common for me to have to reboot a couple of times a day, for a number of reasons, one of which is to regain RS-422 external controller control of my BetaSP deck. Sometimes, I can get it back by rebooting the VTR...