PDA

View Full Version : VT3 does not recognize my DV camera



Bob A
01-19-2004, 08:36 AM
I connected my Cannon DV camcorder to my vt3 via firewire and it does not seem to recognize it. What am I doing wrong? Please help!

CHW
01-19-2004, 09:42 AM
Would you have happened to installed Avid 3.5 into your computer?

Bob A
01-19-2004, 05:32 PM
I don't have Avid 3.5. I called tech support and they suggested I upgrade Windows media player and Directx. Which I did and the problem went away. VT3 now recognizes my DV camcorder. Thanks.:)

CHW
01-19-2004, 06:26 PM
That's awsome!

I had the same prob and it took a lot more than that to fix it.

CHW

Jim_C
01-19-2004, 06:39 PM
Make sure you have DirectX9.0b installed.

Bob A
01-19-2004, 07:36 PM
Yes it was DirectX 9.0b. I just tried my first dv capture. The file saved in the toaster was an AVI file. Does the DV automatically save as an AVI file? I noticed that it is considerably smaller than the RTV files. Have you noticed much difference in the final product (VHS or DVD) between the two? Thanks.