PDA

View Full Version : Bobs MultiCam for sale..



Bobt
01-13-2004, 10:33 PM
Just and FYI the directions are being proofed and
dressed up tommorow. With the help of Steve Bowie
I squished a bug.
So on my website you will see on my purchase page
http://www.toastergarage.com/gpage2.html
MultiCam buy me button.
Come and get it :)

You can also pick it up from Steve Bowie or Blaine at video
hardware.

What else ya need to know. Go ahead ask..

Bob

SBowie
01-14-2004, 07:08 AM
I guess I should add the comments from a post I just made on the VTNT list here as well (those who follow both lists, please forgive the redundancy):

Just an unnoficial update and review -- I've been beating on the beta of
Bob's Multicam for days, and don't think Bob would mind my making a few
points here for those of you interested.

For test purposes, I'm running it on what I consider to be a minimal spec
system, a garden variety single P4 2.4 with a gig of DDR. The stripeset is
also minimal, simply two EIDE drives.

That said, it works fine - makes me want to run out an buy a handful of
cameras!

I agree with Eugene - the 'Scrub' mode is great, much faster than 'realtime'
playback would permit; and, the edits can be created more accurately in this
fashion than I am cabable of using the 'on-the-fly' Interactive mode.(YMMV.)

The latter (Interactive mode) works ok with a couple or three camera views
on this lowly P4 box ... not all frames are displayed during playback --
esp. with DV clips -- but it would be fine for shorter segments. (I expect
a more powerful test-rig would show more -- if not all -- frames for several
cameras, but this really makes little difference in practice anyway.)

The usage is pretty straightforward, probably takes a couple tries tries
initially to get the idea but is child's play after that. The difficulty is
on the level of making a peanut butter sandwich for the first time. I think
my favorite thing is that (because the way VT-Edit works) it's really easy
to perfect an edit afterward by slip/sliding or dragging the i/o points of a
clip. Having done that, Alt-f in a bunch of dissolves and whammo!

[BTW, the response to LIGHTWORX special intro offer for Bob's Multicam was
very encouraging: at this moment, I have ONE ONLY promo bundle left
(consisting of Bob's Multicam with the bonus 10CD set of Rapid Transit DVE's
for the VT[3] all at US$200.00) -- if anyone is interested, please reply
offlist or phone.]

podro
03-06-2004, 07:15 PM
Is there anyone else here that has the multicam already and loving it? I'm ready to purchase one, just curious to what everyone thinks of theirs.


paul (not lara)

Norman
03-07-2004, 03:59 AM
I've only had occasion to use it once since I got it, but, it is well worth the price. I just wish it had come out 2 years ago, I needed it all the time then, now I have to go after that business more aggressively. I still consider it a must have application.

ScorpioProd
03-07-2004, 07:23 PM
Oh yes, I have Bob's MCE and I love it! :)

It works great. I recommend it highly.

I also wish it had come out a few years earlier, back when Newtek kept saying they were gonna make it, but didn't.

I also did tons of MCE productions that could have really used it over the last couple years.

wvp
03-08-2004, 07:41 PM
To be honest, it does not work well for me. It is either an issue of my personal computer (Dual Xeon 2.6 w 1GB ram and 4 80GB IDE drives on an Escalade controller) or just that computers are not fsat enough yet (for my needs).
What exactly does not work well?
I wanted to use it to edit multicam music videos. We shoot 4 cameras and record 2-4 takes - so you can imagine the number of angles available for the edit. The problem I have is that I cannot play 2-4 clips with smooth sound. It is important that I be able to hear & edit precisely.
For now I do a lot of chopping & local scrubbing which works pretty good.

bradl
03-08-2004, 09:07 PM
Originally posted by wvp
...The problem I have is that I cannot play 2-4 clips with smooth sound... Just curious, does the plugin somehow not allow background rendering to take place?

ScorpioProd
03-08-2004, 09:19 PM
Ah, OK, I see what you mean, yeah, the same is true for me with my dual 2.8 if I use four cameras at once...

As for background rendering, Bob had originally told me to disable background rendering when using MCE, but I don't actually do that anymore. I don't think it's really a background rendering issue as much as Bob's interface taking the streams directly, which may starve the normal VT playback of what it needs.

As for me personally, it isn't a problem since 99% of my MCE work is only two camera, which works fine.

I can see that for a four angle music video it could be problematic, but you mention needing to edit "precisely", and the only way to do the MCE edit "precisely" is in the scrub mode anyway, not while playing the streams.

But again, for my use, MCE is a good product.

UnCommonGrafx
03-08-2004, 11:37 PM
Yeah, it won't do for music videos.


At the moment...

Here's hoping for more excitement for you NAB-bound folk!