PDA

View Full Version : Network Rendering??



SamuraiSlayer
01-12-2004, 09:57 PM
Lately i've gotten interested in network rendering, seeing that so many people use it, but WHAT IS IT? I know the basic idea is to use network computers to help render, thats about all i kno. Ok so once that gets explained, i'm off to buy some computers to use for this "network rendering" deal. But I have a small budget. So I wanna know what's the best processor and motherboard and if I can't afford a case to put it in then SO BE IT. For network rendering the computer don't need a CD-ROM drive or a floppy drive or a very big hard drive... It don't even need a good monitor or a sound card, but I want it to be good for rendering. Can someone explain this crap to me?

1 more thing, what is hardware rendering and is it possible with LW?

garg
01-13-2004, 12:58 AM
LW do not support hardware render solutions right now. So you need to stick with real computers in order to render something.

Network rendering is normaly used to render a frame or a bounch of frames on one computer while other computers works on other frames. Some tools exist also to render a single frame across many computers.

In my opinion you may build up very cheap computers with only ram, disk, mobo, and cpu, provided that your mobo have a on board graphic card as you will need it in order to boot. If you want to have a large number of computers you should check for rack mounted ones (a bit more expensive and the rack is definitly a bit expensive).

Alain Bertrand

Steve McRae
01-13-2004, 05:10 AM
. . . if you have another computer that you would like to try this with, give spider a try . . . it is free and works very well . . .

http://www.stationx.com/index.htm

Moser95814
01-14-2004, 12:02 PM
I am also considering networking my two boxes.

I have a 2.4 P4 (single), 512mgs 2700 ddr ram and an ATI 9800 pro card (128)mgs. XP Pro, Lightwave installed

My other box is a dual 933mhz P3, 768mgs 800 Rdram and Nividia g4 4200 also 128 mgs. (I want to use this one just for rendering)

From what I've been reading, the video card doesn't play a big role in the rendering process, so is the Nividia card which has a slower clock speed an fewer pipes be sufficient for my purposes?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Steve McRae
01-14-2004, 12:07 PM
. . . hey samari . . .

the video card has absolutely no effect on render times at all . . .

definitely wire them up - hint - I have had the best luck using unc path names rather than mapped drives when setting up your system for network rendering - this means that you have to access your files a little differently and that you have to mod the config files, but it helps for everything to work together more smoothly when setting up network rendering . . .

if you have specific questions about the process, post them here . . .

Moser95814
01-14-2004, 01:14 PM
Thanks and I'm sure I'll havemore questions.

jorbedo
01-14-2004, 07:10 PM
network rendering - ZOIC Studios (http://www.networkmagazine.com/shared/article/showArticle.jhtml?articleId=17200260&classroom=)

gjjackson
01-15-2004, 06:05 AM
Network screamernet tutorial.

http://www.newtek-europe.com/Stuff/LightWave/Misc/MattGorner_ScreamerNet_Tutorial.pdf

Steve McRae
01-15-2004, 06:11 AM
. . . hey that tut is pretty cool - I had not seen it before! . . .

Matt
01-15-2004, 08:52 AM
Thanks very much! :)

Cheers
Matt

Jockomo
01-15-2004, 10:54 AM
What I want to know is why NewTek hasn't hired Matt yet?

Matt
01-15-2004, 11:04 AM
<blush!> probably because I'm not good enough to work there!!! :)

Steve McRae
01-15-2004, 11:07 AM
. . . something like that should be incorporated into the help docs . . .

Moser95814
01-20-2004, 04:40 PM
I agree. I found it very informative and easy to follow. Thanks to every one for their feedback.:)

trentonia
01-21-2004, 07:38 AM
Man, save your money and check out http://www.respower.com it's easier, cheaper, fater, neater, and sweeter. They also have quite a bit of info about network rendering in general.

SamuraiSlayer
01-21-2004, 01:45 PM
i'd rather just keep my business at home :rolleyes:

Steve McRae
01-21-2004, 04:08 PM
I might actually give respower a try one of these days . . . but, if you are into the hardware type of thing, it is satisfying knowing that you have your own little private render farm . . . :)