PDA

View Full Version : Help in creating Highways in Landscapes

oair
01-11-2004, 06:00 AM
Greetings! I am brand new to Lightwave 7.5 and I am requesting any advice on building highways in landscapes for animations of motor vehicle collisions. The highways would consist of straight-aways, intersections and curved lengths of asphalt highways. The roadways would be created in both rural and urban settings.

Thanks for any advice!!!

prospector
01-11-2004, 06:29 AM
fastest way is texture maps and bump maps
Next is minimum amount of geometry and texture maps
Next is full geometry

Or a combination of all the above

Depends on how close you need to be fo each to work.

Texture/bump maps lose everything on closeup shots. (ie too pixely in textures and bumps are fake so none will show if close up.

min amount will either give better texturing or better bumps

Full geometry will give better of both worlds, but comes at rendering time costs.

Can you be more specific in the needs of shots?

oair
01-11-2004, 06:37 AM
Prospector,

Thanks alot for the info! I am a traffic accident reconstructionist and I am working on learning to create animations of motor vehicle collisions. I want them to look as professional as possible and am willing to learn anything. I plan on showing everything from broad overall views of the scene with the collision sequence and also close-ups with driver's perspective and witness views. I want to work at creating the best views possible for both types of animation views.

Can you also please advise on where I can find some good looking vehicle objects. I need to build a library of them for my line of work.

Thanks for the help! I appreciate your willingness to help out a newbie!

gjjackson
01-11-2004, 09:16 AM
If you're new you could check in your scene directory, there's a crash simulation there. It's somewhat simplistic but could give you some pointers.

prospector
01-11-2004, 09:36 AM