PDA

View Full Version : Will Lightwave Render Engine use 128 Threads?



Nicolas Jordan
11-26-2019, 08:53 AM
With AMDs confirmation and teaser of the 3990X 64 core 128 thread Threadripper coming next year I was wonder if the current Lightwave render engine will detect over 64 threads? I know that Blender Cycles renderer is currently limited to 64 threads but with it's fast development I'm sure that will change shortly. I'm also certain that the new Modo render engine that is currently being developed will take advantage of these kind of processors. Since the new Lightwave render engine is still fairly new I'm wonder if it was written to take advantage of these kind of CPUs.

3990X announced https://www.pcmag.com/news/372159/amd-teases-64-core-mega-cpu-the-ryzen-threadripper-3990x

Free4Ever
11-26-2019, 09:02 AM
It is probably still possible to disable HyperThreading/SMT and run it as a 64 core/64 thread CPU.

Nicolas Jordan
11-26-2019, 09:18 AM
It is probably still possible to disable HyperThreading/SMT and run it as a 64 core/64 thread CPU.

I'm sure you will be able to do that but doing that would defeat the purpose of it's design. You might as well pay less and get a 3970X then.

Dan Ritchie
11-26-2019, 10:16 AM
Will Windows recognize 128 threads? I seem to remember there being a setting somewhere.

lardbros
11-26-2019, 10:37 AM
Ask Lewis/Elvis... he has the fastest machines I've ever heard of, he'll know :)

Free4Ever
11-26-2019, 01:59 PM
Looks like 3 other renderers on Linux are 30-40% faster with SMT on, tested on a 12 core 3900x. A lot better nowadays... https://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=news_item&px=AMD-Ryzen-9-3900X-SMT-Perf

Lewis
12-03-2019, 02:28 PM
LW 2018---> will use all the threads you have, 2015.3 and below use up top 64 threads only.

I got 80threads (dual CPU) in 2016 and until LW 2018 come out i couldn't use both of my CPUs in LW 2015 but after 2018 it's working fine.

TheLexx
12-03-2019, 02:47 PM
LW 2018---> will use all the threads you have, 2015.3 and below use up top 64 threads only.

I got 80threads (dual CPU) in 2016 and until LW 2018 come out i couldn't use both of my CPUs in LW 2015 but after 2018 it's working fine.

Very interesting. Was yours a self-build ? I wonder what would be a decent dual cpu motherboard nowadays, as it might be worth considering fast cpu native rendering over super-fast subscription gpu rendering. Are you broadly happy with your speeds ?

Lewis
12-03-2019, 03:00 PM
Very interesting. Was yours a self-build ? I wonder what would be a decent dual cpu motherboard nowadays, as it might be worth considering fast cpu native rendering over super-fast subscription gpu rendering. Are you broadly happy with your speeds ?

Yes it was built by myself.
Actually i switched to DualXeons in 2013 when i build my first DualXeon MB+CPU combo (Asus Z9-dpe8 WS motherboard + 2*E5 2690 Xeons - 8c/16t per CPU - still works fine) and then in 2016 i switched that workstation to new one also built myself with Asus z10pe-d8 ws motherboard and 2* Xeon E5-2698v4 (20c/40t per cpu) which i still use as my workstation + 2 render slaves.

Back then it was good but i stared my CPU render transition to octane in 2015 and since 2017 i'm rendering 99% of my stuff with GPUs so not really need so much CPU power but PCI-E lanes come in hand with 4 GPUs or 5 which i had at one point in my workstation earlier. For my work (product design/arch-viz) CPU renderer speed in LW can't keep up with Octane with similar priced CPU/GPU but it depend son user needs and going to GPU render is not cheap considering possible changes of hardware needed to update current CPU renderer to GPU and prices of strong GPUs. But if machine is build from start then my choice would be GPU (and I ended up in 3 workstations with total of 11 GPUs nowdays). And if you are going to GPU then single socket MB and decent mid-priced CPU is enough.

Nicolas Jordan
12-03-2019, 07:01 PM
LW 2018---> will use all the threads you have, 2015.3 and below use up top 64 threads only.

I got 80threads (dual CPU) in 2016 and until LW 2018 come out i couldn't use both of my CPUs in LW 2015 but after 2018 it's working fine.

Thanks Lewis, it's good to know that Lightwave 2018 and up is future proof for multiple threads on CPUs.

lwanmtr
12-03-2019, 10:40 PM
I wonder id that 3990 will drop into the same socket as my 2990? Cause I want it.....lol

Sensei
12-04-2019, 02:09 AM
...if LW does not have option for more threads but OS recognize them, one can run multiple LW instances on the same machine to get 100% during rendering final image sequence of animation..

Lewis
12-04-2019, 02:24 AM
Thanks Lewis, it's good to know that Lightwave 2018 and up is future proof for multiple threads on CPUs.

Yep not sure is there any "hard coded" limit now but i'm pretty sure it'll work with 128 thread also.

Here is my 80 in action:
http://prntscr.com/q5zg5d

Lightwolf
12-04-2019, 04:32 AM
I wonder id that 3990 will drop into the same socket as my 2990? Cause I want it.....lol

No. It needs a new board and chipset. AMD decided to go this route because the TR3 massively benefits from the improved i/o.

Cheers,
Mike

gar26lw
12-04-2019, 07:12 AM
so what is the best bang for buck cpu setup these days?

Lemon Wolf
12-04-2019, 07:27 AM
I wonder id that 3990 will drop into the same socket as my 2990? Cause I want it.....lol

I want the 3990X too but its going to be way too expensive.
Expect 4000$ at least for that particular one.
While i understand why AMD is using a new socket for the 3000 Series TRs its kind of frustrating.
Anyone here interested in acquiring my old 2990WX? :)

Btw i wondered about something, maybe i should start a new thread about it.
When you compare user results in the benchmark threat it seems like Lightwave favors Intel CPUs.
Most other render packages seem to run faster on AMD now with the 3000 series on a core to core basis as AMD has now a higher instructions per clock speed.
Maybe some of you heard about the Matlab problem?
Matlab codepath problem (https://www.techpowerup.com/261241/matlab-mkl-codepath-tweak-boosts-amd-ryzen-mkl-performance-significantly)
Now i wonder what Lightwave does when it starts.
Does it check CPU vendor ID? Does it use the same CPU extensions on both Intel and AMD processors?
Or is there something similar going on like with Matlab?

Lightwolf
12-04-2019, 08:01 AM
so what is the best bang for buck cpu setup these days?

Ryzen 3950x if you can get one.

Cheers,
Mike

- - - Updated - - -



While i understand why AMD is using a new socket for the 3000 Series TRs its kind of frustrating.

At least it's a decision made by engineering and not by marketing. ;)

Cheers,
Mike

gar26lw
12-04-2019, 05:12 PM
Ryzen 3950x if you can get one.

Cheers,
Mike



better than a threadripper ? I am not up on cpu's.

is Intel dead now? no point with dual cpus setups?

lwanmtr
12-04-2019, 05:15 PM
3950 is the next gen threadripper

Intel has good cpu's but for the price, AMD is better, IMO

Lightwolf
12-04-2019, 06:56 PM
better than a threadripper ? I am not up on cpu's.
Bang for buck, yes. Absolute single CPU performance? That'd be the threadripper.

is Intel dead now? no point with dual cpus setups?
Given that you can also get dual Epycs from AMD... ;)

But it seems that Intel will be trailing behind when it comes to high performance desktop and server CPUs at least until 2021.

Cheers,
Mike

Nicolas Jordan
12-04-2019, 08:14 PM
Yep not sure is there any "hard coded" limit now but i'm pretty sure it'll work with 128 thread also.

Here is my 80 in action:
http://prntscr.com/q5zg5d

Nice! I suspect that if your rendering with 80 threads then there likely isn't a limit like you say. I guess we will probably have that verified sometime next year with the 128 Threadripper get's released and hopefully some Lightwaver will get it.

lwanmtr
12-04-2019, 09:07 PM
..... hopefully some Lightwaver will get it.

Already saving my pennies.....

robertoortiz
12-06-2019, 02:17 PM
Ryzen 3950x if you can get one.

Cheers,
Mike

- - - Updated - - -


At least it's a decision made by engineering and not by marketing. ;)

Cheers,
Mike
looking to get a good premade system based on the Ryzen 3950x, for both GPU and CPU rendering and I stumbled into this...What do you guys think? (not a hardware guy at all and my budget is under 2k)


https://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/cty/pdp/spd/alienware-aurora-r10-desktop/wdryzr1010?mkwid=skouT6UbO&pcrid=331105481167&pdv=c&product=WDRYZR1010&pgrid=72170045968&ptaid=pla-634887993593&VEN1=skouT6UbO~331105481167~901pdb6671~c~~WDRYZR10 10~72170045968~pla-634887993593&cid=312465126&lid=59673390918&dgc=st&dgseg=dhs&acd=1230923830920560&cid=312465126&st=&gclid=CjwKCAiAlajvBRB_EiwA4vAqiFd9zcnmzN85rSIUoh0o 6nG_a108bh0IVvTsiSvJtOIiZEU936KtNhoCyAYQAvD_BwE&lid=59673390918&ptaid=pla-634887993593&VEN1=skouT6UbO%7E331105481167%7E901pdb6671%7Ec%7E% 7EWDRYZR1010%7E72170045968%7Epla-634887993593&pgrid=72170045968&dgc=st&dgseg=dhs&acd=1230923830920560&VEN3=812804976473485531

erikals
12-06-2019, 05:16 PM
i never know how to recommend those prebuilt ones, since they are often Twice the price of what you build yourself.

my advice, get a guy to build it for you. much better. much cheaper.

Nicolas Jordan
12-07-2019, 03:36 PM
i never know how to recommend those prebuilt ones, since they are often Twice the price of what you build yourself.

my advice, get a guy to build it for you. much better. much cheaper.

Ya I built my own 2990WX machine last year and it was about 1/3rd cheaper than ordering a prebuilt machine and mine has better quality parts that a prebuilt as well.

TheLexx
12-07-2019, 04:11 PM
I did a build some years ago with an I7 3930K chip and Gigabyte motherboard. At the time my research seemed to show that Asus and Gigabyte motherboards were for overclocking enthusiasts, but Intel boards were for a more conservative build, but I don't know what people go for today... Funny thing is there were more bios settings than I could understand, so there was a trial and error thing going on with involuntary boot cycles, but it seemed to tame in the end... My next build will probably go with an Intel board. :D

Lightwolf
12-09-2019, 02:18 AM
My next build will probably go with an Intel board. :D
Good luck with that, Intel stopped making desktop motherboards some time ago. ;)

Cheers,
Mike

TheLexx
12-09-2019, 06:05 AM
Good luck with that, Intel stopped making desktop motherboards some time ago. ;)

Cheers,
Mike

Thanks Mike. Will probably look at Gibabyte then, since there is a certain familiarity. I do remember a strange Intel gaming-type board where a crude blue led skull would light up when it was switched on, as if some boardroom businessmen were trying to be cool to compete. :)

Marander
12-09-2019, 06:13 AM
Good luck with that, Intel stopped making desktop motherboards some time ago. ;)

Cheers,
Mike

Yeah exactly, and tbh imho they were never really good.

I was never disappointed with ASUS mainboards or Graphic Cards but Gigabyte are also good. They also put more durable capacitors and better chipset cooling then most other companies. The MSI and Intel ones I had were not that great. Maybe MSI got better now but I don't take chances anymore when it's about hardware components. Also, get a high quality PSU to avoid troubles and instabilities. Same goes for RAM modules.

Marander
12-09-2019, 06:29 AM
I did a build some years ago with an I7 3930K chip and Gigabyte motherboard. At the time my research seemed to show that Asus and Gigabyte motherboards were for overclocking enthusiasts, but Intel boards were for a more conservative build, but I don't know what people go for today... Funny thing is there were more bios settings than I could understand, so there was a trial and error thing going on with involuntary boot cycles, but it seemed to tame in the end... My next build will probably go with an Intel board. :D

See my reply about mainboards, PSU and RAM.

BTW you can disable any overclocking in the BIOS anyway if you feel it's not stable or heating up the system too much.

ASUS and Gigabyte Boards feature much higher quality components, at least in the higher end models (e.g ROG).