PDA

View Full Version : animating smoke leaking in from behind a door

Wayne Heim
07-02-2019, 05:24 PM
Need some suggestions. I'd like to create a openvdb smoke simulation of smoke leaking out of the cracks around the top edge of a closed door. I need to bring the sim into Keyshow when done. I've never done anything like this before so any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Wayne

prometheus
07-03-2019, 10:42 AM
Need some suggestions. I'd like to create a openvdb smoke simulation of smoke leaking out of the cracks around the top edge of a closed door. I need to bring the sim into Keyshow when done. I've never done anything like this before so any and all help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Wayne

If it is a necessity to learn the VDB tools in lightwave..ok, but be aware, the Gas solver and vdb tools are slow to simulate and hard to get visual feedback in openGL, as well as to direct smoke flow and collisions etc.
Otherwise I would advise to do it in blender, select your smoke flow object, hit spacebar and write quicksmoke..Tada you got a smoke going on, place your wall and door in the scene and make that a smoke object/collision object.
change cache from point to vdb, load the vdb files in to keyshot and see if that works.

Didnīt know keyshot (not keyshow right?) had vdb, but checked it just recently..though the rendering seems slow, either the presenter is showcasing it badly, or having a slow computer.

XswampyX
07-03-2019, 03:46 PM
Have a look.

You will want to fiddle around with it and then save it out, before you incorporate it into your final scene.

Wayne Heim
07-03-2019, 04:11 PM
Have a look.

You will want to fiddle around with it and then save it out, before you incorporate it into your final scene.

Thanks! I'll take a look.

Wayne

Wayne Heim
07-03-2019, 04:15 PM
I created a basic smoke sim in Blender but now I can't figure out how to export it so I can import it into Keyshot.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Wayne