PDA

View Full Version : Things that Go Bump with the Light...

Richard Hebert
04-30-2019, 07:54 PM
Hi Everyone, I'm seeing an issue that I can't resolve. I'm very new to Lightwave 2019. Lots of changes and upgrades. I've got a double sided cylinder with a texture and bump applied to it. The cylinder has two spherical light sources inside mimicking light bulbs. When the lights are on I'm getting specular hits on the outside of the cylinder where no light can reach. I thought the spec hits were from the environment at first but disappear when the lights are deactivated and the scene renders out as expected. Has this been noticed by anyone before?

lardbros
05-01-2019, 12:47 AM
Hmmm, that seems very odd indeed.
Can you post the scene? Might be easier to determine what's wrong by looking at the scene files.

Tobian
05-01-2019, 03:41 AM
It's almost certainly from triangulation errors.

Try running this https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/normal-corrector/ and then unify polygons (and flip if anything got inverted).

I'd also look in the two sphere lights, and check if they have a falloff node in there, if so, take it out, and set their falloff to Inv Sq as standard. Having falloff off, or the use of the faloff node can cause noise/blowout/render slowness issues.

Richard Hebert
05-01-2019, 04:19 PM
The cylinder is made of quads with polys facing inward and surface double sided. Lights are spherical with inverse square.

Dan Ritchie
05-02-2019, 10:37 AM
It looks like the spec is coming entirely from the environment light, and on the backplate of the tube, I see a reflection from the image world.

RebelHill
05-02-2019, 10:54 AM
Yep... its the enviro, turn that off, those external specs go away even with the interior lights on.

Richard Hebert
05-02-2019, 11:39 AM
Why do they vanish when I turn off the interior lights?

RebelHill
05-02-2019, 12:20 PM