PDA

View Full Version : Please create, not hate.

gdkeast
04-04-2019, 03:38 AM
LightWave was the first 3D program I was introduced to and over the past years, I have committed myself to learning it. I'm completely self-taught and independent and only want to create basic animations, effects, and perhaps a short film or two. And the more I learn, the more ignorant I feel!

Of course, when making a commitment to learning something like 3D, the issue comes up if I've got the right program and is the program going to stay in development or be phased out.

And to be honest, for a time, I wasn't sure what direction LW was heading, but didn't care because I was still making rotating 3D boxes with sparkles. And of course, I saw defections from the program and the what killed LW video on You Tube.

To be fair, I tried other programs, including the free one, and honestly, having gone so far into LightWave, I didn't like any of them. And then LW 2018 happened and then 2019, and all of the sudden, I felt like there was a LightWave renaissance happening and felt reassured that I could stay with LW despite everything that seemed to be happening.

Something that really bothers me now (and I want to get it off my chest) is former LW users who insist on being negative about LW. For me, it is one thing to be unhappy about something and then move on to something else, but it is something else to just keep harping about the program you left.

I like LW. I like the direction LW is going. And I am committed to learning LW. And I honestly get tired of hearing destructive criticism.

Clearly with its track record of productions, it is a more than capable program. I mean, for Pete sake's, David Ridlen's LW work was just in the Academy Award winning film, Green Book. But still for some, that's not enough and will never be enough. So what I'm saying is if you don't like LW, that's okay---move on and no one needs to hear about it. Stop the hate and just create.