PDA

View Full Version : VDB Crashing 2019.0.3 with motion blur



lwanmtr
03-29-2019, 09:45 PM
I have 2 VDB objects, one subracting from another. The scene works fine until I turn on motion blur in camera panel..then layout either crashes instantly or waits until i turn on vpr or hit F9 render.

Ive included a zip with the scene...and have submitted a bug report.

Anyone have any clues?

OFF
03-29-2019, 11:43 PM
Both in statics and in animation the rendering goes well.

144625

lwanmtr
03-30-2019, 12:33 AM
Did you turn on motion blur in the camera? Prolly shoulda mentioned that its off.

OFF
03-30-2019, 01:25 AM
Yes of course. Only one thing that I changed turn off adaptive sampling.

lwanmtr
03-30-2019, 01:32 AM
I turned off adaptive sampling, turned on motion blur...f9...crash

OFF
03-30-2019, 01:47 AM
Try to save yor vdb to vdb sequence and use it.

lwanmtr
03-30-2019, 09:15 PM
Problem with a sequence is that I wont get any blurring of motion. Plus the final peice im going for would end up with tons of sequences

OFF
03-31-2019, 12:20 AM
I tried to render full your scene and got crash on the 50th frame.
And I did not know before that the objects sequence can not have motion blur - it is very unexpected.

lwanmtr
03-31-2019, 01:57 AM
Unless its different for vdb objects, cant get motion blur on a sequence because each object is a new one, so theres no vertex movement that can be calculated.

Thanks for testing the scene..hopefully the folks at the Lightwave group can sort it out. Ive tested on 2 machines with the same results..havent tested on osx yet though.

Kevbarnes
04-03-2019, 03:42 AM
Unless its different for vdb objects, cant get motion blur

Just had a quick look - do you need to use the 'Velocity Grid' to get sub frame deformation.
check out 2019 doc.

144649

lwanmtr
04-03-2019, 03:47 AM
I tried plugging into velocity grid from both objects in the scene..still crashed...though I coulda been doing it wrong.

Kevbarnes
04-03-2019, 04:11 AM
Just tested - seems to work. got both Grid and Velocity plugged in, don't know if that's strictly necessary yet - will test

144652

lwanmtr
04-03-2019, 04:13 AM
Can you test what you did with the scene I atteched here?

Kevbarnes
04-03-2019, 04:18 AM
Hold on a Tick

Kevbarnes
04-03-2019, 04:25 AM
Yes, here it is - your scene file works fine.

144653

lwanmtr
04-03-2019, 04:28 AM
Hmm...I'll have to check that tomorrow when I can get to it.

Was there a reason you went to 200%?

lwanmtr
04-03-2019, 04:34 AM
Newp...crashed for me instantly when i hit f9

Kevbarnes
04-03-2019, 04:44 AM
200% no, only to make it obvious in the render.
Here is your Scene file I saved with MB.
try it on your m/c ?

144654


your on a pc ?
I'm using 2019.0.3 64bit

lwanmtr
04-03-2019, 04:53 AM
m/c?

Loading that scene with MB applied crashes LW instantly. Im using 2019.0.3 also

Kevbarnes
04-03-2019, 04:57 AM
m/c = machine, sorry abbreviation. hmm? no ideas, - do you need to render ?

lardbros
04-03-2019, 05:21 AM
m/c?

Loading that scene with MB applied crashes LW instantly. Im using 2019.0.3 also

Know it's painful, but did you try deleting your configs between upgrading from 2019.0.2 to 0.3? This is usually the most common cause of problems, and weird crashes.

04-03-2019, 08:45 AM
I suggest reloading your plugins. Sounds like that might be a source of your crashing.

lwanmtr
04-03-2019, 12:29 PM
Know it's painful, but did you try deleting your configs between upgrading from 2019.0.2 to 0.3? This is usually the most common cause of problems, and weird crashes.

Never had 19.0.2, so newp, didnt delete them.

I'll try reloading plugins..maybe an issue.

Still no response from LW team on my ticket either.

vncnt
04-03-2019, 01:19 PM
https://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?159493-LW-2019-0-3-instant-crash

Seems related ...

lwanmtr
04-03-2019, 01:23 PM
Hmm...interesting. Hadnt seen that thread...but yep, seems there's a bug somewhere.