PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave and a career...

kevinmcpoland
01-04-2004, 07:58 AM
Hi All,

Just some thoughts and questions re Pro use of lightwave.

I am a hobbyist lightwave user simply making my way through countless tutorials and books at the moment to improve my skills, however like many people I have aspirations to one day make some money from this stuff. To be honest, it's not really a lot of money I want to make, it's more that I would just like to do 3d for a living...(and no, I'm not a student or school leaver, more an 'rapidly approaching middle-aged optimist...)

Now one of the things that sold me on Lightwave over it's competitors is the amount of times LW seems to have been used in major films and TV shows. But then when I read articles with special fx people, or watch the specials on the various major film release's dvd extra's, I never recognise the screen shots! Also, I have never noticed anyone even mentioning LW on these sorts of documentaries.

So question number 1 really is, does anyone really use LW in major films and shows still, or have the production companies all gone over to more expensive programs?

If the answer to this is yes, how do people get to work for these companies? Again, when reading biogs of people doing the 3d stuff, it would seem most of them have been in the 'film' industry for years and have just 'developed' their role. Is it possible for middle aged people to jump on-board, or are these sorts of posts kept 'in-house' with new positions only going to the tea-boy as part of their apprenticeships?

Another question, is it possible to get these sorts of jobs by only being a specific software user, e.g LW. By that, I mean that as LW is so powerful and some of the stuff I have seen from people is just fantastic, would that be enough, or do you need to be a great user of many of the modelling and animation packages on the market? So, does anyone produce this stuff and make a living just by using LW?