PDA

View Full Version : Dvd18

meshmaster
01-03-2004, 08:44 AM
I am really new to DVD burning - just bought a DVD burner the day after xmas because it was a pretty good deal - got a 169.99 burner for 99.00... I've been doing some looking around on google and places trying to learn anything and everything that there is to know about dvds. Recently on a few google searches I found out about the freaking huge dvd-18 disks that hold 17 gigs of info, which some movies are packaged on, such as the original release of T2... Does anybody know of prices that it costs to burn something like that or where you can get disks that are that freaking gigantic!?! Seems like something like that, if it worked with a normal dvd burner would be a super awesome way of doing backups! ;) I truly doubt it's available to the public, but if anyone has info on this, it'd be greatly appreciated.

Nakia
01-03-2004, 09:02 AM
Only solution I have on my mac for something larger than 4.3gigs DVD Authoring is I use a SCSI DLT 20/40 drive. Then send the tape off to a DVD mastering joint and have em burn a DVD for you.
Roxie Toaster sends to DLT, most backup apps do. Also Pro-Level DVD Authoring tools do to.

Rich
01-03-2004, 11:10 AM
There is also a new format of DVD coming out soon called Blu Ray which can hold 27gigs of data which will be needed for High Definition movies. Here is more info

www.matsu****a.co.jp/corp/news/official.data/data.dir/en020219-4/en020219-4.html

Edit: the forum puts stars in the link because its the word shi*

Avebeno
01-03-2004, 04:29 PM
Home DVD recorders can only burn on single layered DVDs. Even if you were to get some of the larger capacity discs you wouldn't be able to use them.

Nakia
01-03-2004, 04:45 PM
Doing multi-layer stuff DLT is best used. DVD9 and up.

meshmaster
01-05-2004, 07:29 AM
guess we'll justs have to wait for the 25 gig blue-rays that were released not so long ago in Japan.

lvsoule
10-27-2004, 03:01 PM