PDA

View Full Version : slider to activate lights :)



nnasr.rm
01-03-2004, 05:09 AM
hello to all u geniuses out there.
does anybody know how to create a slider that activates lights.
i.e if i shift the slider to say 30 then all the lights from 0 - 30 are all on.
million thanx
its for a map thingy

Aegis
01-03-2004, 07:05 AM
You can use a simple expression for this - make all of your lights take their values from a single "master" light and control that light with a slider.

nnasr.rm
01-04-2004, 02:45 AM
i was afraid u`d say that

colkai
01-04-2004, 06:28 AM
It isn't as bad as you make it sound.
You can use the spreadsheet to set envelopes for each light as a batch. Then in the Graph Editor, pull all the lights into the bin and filter on *.Intens* to access only these values. Then assign an expression or a slider value to the intensity in a group.
I've just tried it and it was quite quick.

Though it did highlight a gap in the spreadsheet, you can't set up envelopes for light flare intensity, you have to manually assign an envelope to each light, which is a bit time consuming.

nnasr.rm
01-04-2004, 07:19 AM
i`ll give that a shot thanks a lot

toby
01-04-2004, 02:29 PM
Hey that Filter syntax works, I never would have figured that out.

You need the '*' at the beginning, then it searches for anything you put next.

I typed '*X' and it removed all but the X channels.

thanks colkai

riki
01-04-2004, 05:26 PM
I believe you can also use expressions to control them with a Null and then animate the Null.