PDA

View Full Version : "Silent" (or automated) NRC install



dfidler
01-21-2019, 03:06 PM
Hi All,

I'd like to be able to install an NRC Node with a package + install response file. Does anyone know if this is possible with the NRC stuff? The reason is I'd like to automate the deployment of some VMs on various cloud vendors (AWS, Azure, DigitalOcean) but right now it seems as though I need to upload the installer to each one, double-click on it and go through the install interview in the GUI.

My ideal is to be able to use a product like Salt which I'll then use to spin up some VMs and deploy the packages on them, on demand.

That way, I can spool up a farm with a few commands, push out the render job and decommission the machines once I'm done with render. This way, I don't have a bunch of VM Snapshots lying in storage (costing me money) that need to be cloned. I just spin them up as I need them and in whatever quantity I need them.

From my tests so far (LW 2018.05), you can't simply clone the VMs that already has NRC installed because you then have conflicting node IDs.

I can't find any documentation on how to do this either. Can anyone help?

Cheers,
Dave.

BeeVee
01-22-2019, 05:07 AM
In the Installer, you can select Render Node as one of the options. That installs just the files needed to act as a render node, but you still need to interact with the installer to some extent.

B

dfidler
01-22-2019, 07:00 AM
In the Installer, you can select Render Node as one of the options. That installs just the files needed to act as a render node, but you still need to interact with the installer to some extent.


Except it's that required interaction with the UI that prevents me from automating the deployment (and wastes time).

I can always install the NRC node and do a system-diff to see what got laid down (on the filesystem and in the registry) - but I don't want to go through that hassle if I don't have to.

BeeVee
01-22-2019, 08:10 AM
You can run the installer from the command line with arguments to select the various options without running the GUI. Run the installer executable from the command line with the "--help" option to see all the values that can be specified.

B

BeeVee
01-22-2019, 10:24 AM
I have updated the wiki with the --help contents (https://docs.lightwave3d.com/display/LW2018/Installing+LightWave+-+Render+node).

B

jwiede
01-22-2019, 11:10 AM
I have updated the wiki with the --help contents (https://docs.lightwave3d.com/display/LW2018/Installing+LightWave+-+Render+node).

BeeVee, it'd be useful for the wiki to provide a cmd-line example showing a flag with option, such as how to pass "minimal" for "unattendedmodeui". As described in the wiki now, it really isn't clear what the syntax is for passing options (just spaces to separate? equals sign needed?). In case of passing paths, also useful to know whether quotes needed always or only if not escaped or no spaces present, and that kind of thing.

It's not as "self-evident" as it might seem, esp. not in a cross-platform sense -- all options exist and are in same format for both platforms (aside from modifying paths accordingly) right? Otherwise, how do the Mac options differ from the Win options?

Thanks!

-John W

BeeVee
01-23-2019, 04:06 PM
Your wish is my command: https://docs.lightwave3d.com/display/LW2018/--help

B

jwiede
01-23-2019, 04:23 PM
Your wish is my command: https://docs.lightwave3d.com/display/LW2018/--help

Yep, that's exactly what was needed, thanks for that!

dfidler
01-25-2019, 02:48 AM
Hey Guys, This is genius, thanks!