PDA

View Full Version : Nodal Displacement



gdkeast
01-17-2019, 02:10 PM
Good day!
Trying to do this older tutorial in 2018, but not quite getting the same effect. I'm following everything as shown except there is no Spot Info Smoothed Normal in 2018, only Normal that I can see and that doesn't seem to do the trick.

143891



Any suggestions on how to displace as shown in image; open to alternative methods but was trying to do with nodes.

Thank you!

Sensei
01-17-2019, 03:24 PM
Looks fine for me..

https://forums.newtek.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=143892&d=1547763828

143892

Sphere made in Layout, Sub-patches turned on, Sub-d level 10. Smoothing in Surface Editor turned on.

gdkeast
01-17-2019, 05:44 PM
Thanks, not sure what I'm missing. Will try again.

gdkeast
01-17-2019, 06:23 PM
Thanks again @Sensei. Yes, I can get it to work now. For some reason, it didn't want to seem to let me if I brought in the object from Modeler, but if I built the sphere in Layout, it works fine. I'm sure I'm probably missing something still, but it works now.

Thanks again, especially for posting the screen shot!!!

143893

Sensei
01-17-2019, 07:54 PM
Thanks again, especially for posting the screen shot!!!

No problem.. :) A picture is worth a thousand words. Much easier than describing it in English