PDA

View Full Version : How to make the guitar stick on the animated fbx character

Alan Safewood
12-28-2018, 02:58 PM
Hi
I've made an animation with my character using Mixamo.com,
resulting in an fbx animation of a guitar player -see example attached.

Question is: How can fix a guitar to look "almost natural" in his hands.
I just made a silly test to try it...
BTW: I use LW 11.6

Any suggestions out there?
Although I've bee on and of this forum for many years I'm still a newbie and need an explanation, not keywords.

Anyway, Id really appreciate for some help from you guys out there.

Best Regards
Alan Safewood

https://youtu.be/M8XpgkCtTm0

ilanvfs
12-28-2018, 03:02 PM
Hi
I've made an animation with my character using Mixamo.com,
resulting in an fbx animation of a guitar player -see example attached.

Question is: How can fix a guitar to look "almost natural" in his hands.
I just made a silly test to try it...
BTW: I use LW 11.6

Any suggestions out there?
Although I've bee on and of this forum for many years I'm still a newbie and need an explanation, not keywords.

Anyway, Id really appreciate for some help from you guys out there.

Best Regards
Alan Safewood

https://youtu.be/M8XpgkCtTm0

Remove all keyframes from it and then parent it to a null or part of the skeleton so that it moves with that part only. The wrist should work

Alan Safewood
12-28-2018, 03:16 PM
Sounds like a good idea. Ill get rid of those 4 keyframes, but how exactly do I parent it to something (wrist, stomach or something

Kryslin
12-28-2018, 03:42 PM
There are two ways to do that...

Both use the Motion Options panel.

1) Is to physically set the parent item in the motion options, be it a bone, null, mesh, etc.

2) The other way is to use Position and Rotation constraints.
2a) Create a null item and parent it to your character. Position it where you want the guitar.