PDA

View Full Version : deform along curve



ilanvfs
12-25-2018, 07:10 PM
Hi everyone!

I am looking for two tools

1. A deformer that would let me create a curve and then select an object and have the object deform along it

2. Similar to above but let's say I have a repeatable pattern can I repeat said object along the curve. (theoretically I could just copy multiple versions of it in a line and do the same using the above tool)

An example here would be bending a watch band along a curve to get it to look round etc...

Thanks in advance.

and happy holidays.

TheLexx
12-25-2018, 07:25 PM
Do you mean like 3rd Powers sticker tool ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4N5sgBbvUw#t=22s

ilanvfs
12-25-2018, 07:35 PM
Do you mean like 3rd Powers sticker tool ?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4N5sgBbvUw#t=22s

Thanks for the quick reply. That tool is awesome and i will be getting it regardless but can i create a curve and use the curve as my guide to deform my model or does it have to be other geometry?

I assumed there was some kind of native tool to place an object along a curve.

MonroePoteet
12-25-2018, 08:05 PM
Is this in Modeler or Layout? In other words, do you want the curve to create fixed geometry based upon a repeating item, or (in Layout) have the object dynamically deform along a curve?

To do this in Modeler, you can use Rail Clone: Create the base (template) geometry in Layer 1 centered around (0,0,0), use Add Points and CTRL-P to create a curve (called a rail for the tool) in Layer 2. Put Layer 1 (geometry) in the foreground, ALT-2 to put Layer 2 (rail) in the background, and use Rail Clone with the desired number of instances (knots):

143685

To do this in Layout, you do the same modeling except the Rail Clone: model the geometry in Layer 1, the curve in Layer 2. Save and send to Layout:

143686

In Layout, select Layer 2 and use Curve to Spline to create a Spline. Add an Instancer (Object Properties=>Instancer panel), and in the Instancer add the Layer 1 Object to be Instanced. Set the Instancer type to Spline, set the Distribute button "on", and then scroll the Number of Instances to fill in the curve:

143687

mTp

P.S. The CurveToSpline tool may not be in the default menus for whichever version of LW you're using. You may have to use Edit=>Edit Menu Layout... and the Search / Find function to find it and add it into the menu hierarchy.

Axis3d
12-26-2018, 08:25 AM
You could just use bones and /or Spline Control:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XWTPk-wQhuk

ilanvfs
12-26-2018, 10:11 AM
As always you are all awesome!

Thanks so much

great support here from a great group!

prometheus
12-27-2018, 05:22 AM
As always you are all awesome!

Thanks so much

great support here from a great group!

You can also use spline guide in native modeler, you first need to create a curve in a background layer, then with your object layer active, click on modify/transform/spline guide, hit "n" to bring up the panel, then click on get background curve..set operation to bend.
There are also some free tools from pictrix, curve bend I think, that does a similar operation as mentioned above, the plugins may be a bit hard to find if at all nowadays though.

Otherwise..if itīs not an absolute need to to in Lightwave, there are free software that handles curves and things like that much better, including repeating pattern and does so parametricly unlike lightwave.

ilanvfs
12-27-2018, 11:33 AM
You can also use spline guide in native modeler, you first need to create a curve in a background layer, then with your object layer active, click on modify/transform/spline guide, hit "n" to bring up the panel, then click on get background curve..set operation to bend.
There are also some free tools from pictrix, curve bend I think, that does a similar operation as mentioned above, the plugins may be a bit hard to find if at all nowadays though.

Otherwise..if itīs not an absolute need to to in Lightwave, there are free software that handles curves and things like that much better, including repeating pattern and does so parametricly unlike lightwave.

Spline guide seems to have a bug for me where it won't let me wrap around completely. For example if there is a point before it then it makes a wall of sorts to stop the next point from coming before it on any axis.

I can't make a loop with it.

erikals
12-27-2018, 02:40 PM
in Modeler, try C bend plugin
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iCNOkWYncs

ilanvfs
12-28-2018, 12:07 PM
in Modeler, try C bend plugin
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iCNOkWYncs

Yes that's literally the tool I was looking for! Problem solved. I have a new problem but ill post a new thread lol!

Some of the controls in lightwave are so different than maya in terms of the thought process that I am still running in to confusion but man oh man I love lightwave for some reason right off the bat.

erikals
12-28-2018, 12:45 PM
cool :king:

yes, LightWave does have its strengths.