PDA

View Full Version : Help with saving files



neilp
11-28-2018, 07:33 AM
We are currently using LW 11.6 across 4 platforms and LW 15 on 1 platform.
Lately we have been saving scenes and when on reopening them the scene file has not been saved. We are also experiencing similar issues with modeler has failed to save changes?

Any thoughts most welcome

MonroePoteet
11-28-2018, 09:22 AM
Is it the Scene file not being saved, or the Objects? In Layout, if you modify any Objects (such as Surfaces, Clip Maps, etc.), they have to be saved out using Save=>Save All Objects or one of the other Save Object options.

mTp

neilp
11-28-2018, 09:30 AM
Is it the Scene file not being saved, or the Objects? In Layout, if you modify any Objects (such as Surfaces, Clip Maps, etc.), they have to be saved out using Save=>Save All Objects or one of the other Save Object options.

mTp

The scene file when using layout even without updating models - doesn't always happen, just occasionally. I'm aware of updating models and using save options.
Models again occasionally don't save even when using 'save all' out of layout

This occurs on 4 of 5 machines which are all networked.

Many thanks

RPSchmidt
11-28-2018, 11:05 AM
The scene file when using layout even without updating models - doesn't always happen, just occasionally. I'm aware of updating models and using save options.
Models again occasionally don't save even when using 'save all' out of layout

This occurs on 4 of 5 machines which are all networked.

Many thanks

Are the scene files being saved to and worked on from a network storage location?

In other words, are your artists working on a scene file and saving it to a network, then trying to open the scene file again from the network location, as opposed to working on the product locally?

If so, it may be an instance where one or more artist is opening the same scene file from the same network location, which can result in neither artists' work being saved or updated when they exit Layout.

I have had a few occasions where one developer was working with a scene file on a network drive and another artist opened that scene file to do some work. Neither of them knew the other had the file open. When they saved, Lightwave acted as though everything was fine... but none of the changes they had made to the file were saved.

jwiede
11-28-2018, 11:33 PM
Fairly classic group access collision scenario.

Use git and have the artists pull/commit their changes from local repos (of the content dirs) to the server that way.