PDA

View Full Version : LightWave 3D® 2018.0.7 Available Now



Chuck
10-31-2018, 03:07 PM
LightWave 3D 2018 users: the seventh stability update, 2018.0.7 is ready in your account.

Link and information in the Blog:

LightWave 3D® 2018.0.7 Available Now (https://blog.lightwave3d.com/2018/10/lightwave-3d-2018-0-7-available-now/)

LightWave 3D® 2018.0.7 (Build 3070) Final Release Change Log - October 31, 2018

LightWave® 2018.0.7 will install into its own directory. 2018.0.7 uses the same license as your 2018.0, 2018.0.1, 2018.0.2, 2018.0.3, 2018.0.4, 2018.0.5, and 2018.0.6 license - just drag-and-drop the license into the interface of 2018.0.7 when first launching 2018.0.7.


Bumped product version to 2018.0.7.
Set the build number to 3070
LB-2338 Motion Mixer Data doesn't load: When 2015 scene copy is made by 2018
LB-4364 Float slider missing from Python SDK (Interface display bug MacOS Mojave)
LWB-2985 Camera selector not working
LWB-3754 5-8 second lag in Modeler
LWB-4135 FiberFX Load From Scene fixed

jwiede
10-31-2018, 05:59 PM
Thanks team! Really glad to see 3754 & 4135, thanks muchly!

Can you provide any details as to what was causing 3754, and the solution? There were a few similar-sounding "delay" behaviors being attributed to that issue, so it'd be useful to know how the specific issue manifested (and was addressed).

TheLexx
10-31-2018, 06:13 PM
From memory I think 4135 was the cursed FiberFX bug haunting Paul for so long - if so I'm happy for him !

Thanks LW team.

:)

Lewis
10-31-2018, 06:28 PM
great, thanks NT.

Greenlaw
10-31-2018, 06:34 PM
Thanks LightWave dev guys! You rock!

Nicolas Jordan
10-31-2018, 08:02 PM
Good to see bugs still being fixed in LW 2018!

lardbros
11-01-2018, 06:14 AM
Oh cool... this is very neat! Glad they've done another one to calm the masses... good work Newtek!

ianr
11-01-2018, 06:51 AM
Oh cool... this is very neat! Glad they've done another one to calm the masses... good work Newtek!



Halloween Release, Eh Chuck tte he!

MarcusM
11-01-2018, 12:24 PM
Not to long bug list in this patch :p Hope dev team is focused on developing Modeler. We have big expectations :)

vipvip242
11-01-2018, 01:28 PM
"
(1) Bumped product version to 2018.0.7.
(2) Set the build number to 3070
"
these 2 new features are so awesome !! :D
... thanks a lot for the 5 other ones !

pbaroque20
11-01-2018, 06:40 PM
Not to long bug list in this patch :p Hope dev team is focused on developing Modeler. We have big expectations :)

Yes we do! Primarily Modeler but also improvements to UI (when possible).

THIBAULT
11-02-2018, 03:32 AM
LWB-3754 !! Just perfect !

3dslider
11-02-2018, 05:16 AM
Great build ! The team are more active than before ;)

Matt
11-02-2018, 04:47 PM
From memory I think 4135 was the cursed FiberFX bug haunting Paul for so long - if so I'm happy for him !

Proof the team DOES listen!

Paul_Boland
11-03-2018, 06:28 AM
Thank you very much for fixing the FiberFX bug, very much appreciated!

Snosrap
11-03-2018, 08:54 AM
Thank you very much for fixing the FiberFX bug, very much appreciated!

So you are going to stick with LW now Paul? ��

Paul_Boland
11-04-2018, 03:54 AM
So you are going to stick with LW now Paul? ��

Yes. I hope my comment didn’t come across badly, I was just out of sorts on the issue. Now if I could just get Newtek to improve the Sliders... ;)

ianr
11-04-2018, 08:17 AM
Yes. I hope my comment didn’t come across badly, I was just out of sorts on the issue. Now if I could just get Newtek to improve the Sliders... ;)



Well it did, I think U should send LW£DG a xmas card!!!!

They have looked after you very well Paul. More positives in 2019

Chuck
11-06-2018, 09:13 AM
Thank you very much for fixing the FiberFX bug, very much appreciated!

Very welcome! Apologies for the time it took to get around to it!

OFF
11-07-2018, 01:05 AM
Wow! Just received:

Issue LWB-3937 has been marked as CLOSED.
Link: https://www.lightwave3d.com/account/report/LWB-3937/
@to_user
This has been fixed for the next version of LightWave.

lardbros
11-07-2018, 01:24 AM
That's cool, sounds like an important fix too! :)
I've also had quite a few reports closed recently... They're all over it at the moment!

HenrikSkoglund
11-07-2018, 03:46 AM
Thanks so much for this update :)

Would you guys please, PLEASE make LW's windows dockable soon as well? It's a pain to use it on my laptop sometimes. Something along the lines of AE's dock/undock'able windows would be super nice! :rock:

papou
11-07-2018, 05:23 AM
Wow! Just received:

Issue LWB-3937 has been marked as CLOSED.
Link: https://www.lightwave3d.com/account/report/LWB-3937/
@to_user
This has been fixed for the next version of LightWave.

What was that? Issues are not available for viewing.

OFF
11-07-2018, 05:33 AM
ClothFX affects only static objects - no effect on animated/deforming objects.

BeeVee
11-07-2018, 07:19 AM
Would you guys please, PLEASE make LW's windows dockable soon as well? It's a pain to use it on my laptop sometimes. Something along the lines of AE's dock/undock'able windows would be super nice!

There are other tools you can use to give some aspects of docking. I now use DisplayFusion, a tool for multiple monitors that has docking included, but you can use the free Allsnap (http://ivanheckman.com/allsnap/) that I used before, it's very good. Of course, Windows 10 messes with snapping so you'll need to redo it each time if you are on Win10.

B

RPSchmidt
11-07-2018, 08:35 AM
There are other tools you can use to give some aspects of docking. I now use DisplayFusion, a tool for multiple monitors that has docking included, but you can use the free Allsnap (http://ivanheckman.com/allsnap/) that I used before, it's very good. Of course, Windows 10 messes with snapping so you'll need to redo it each time if you are on Win10.

B

OR.... new GUI with docking? :goodluck::heart:

Paul_Boland
11-07-2018, 09:18 AM
Very welcome! Apologies for the time it took to get around to it!

Thanks very much, really is appreciated.

tburbage
11-08-2018, 09:58 PM
+10 (to just implement docking of at least the most obvious of panels). In Modeler, that would be a right side dock with "Tool" input on one tab (aka Numeric), and an array of Statistics/VMaps/Layers grouped together on an adjacent tab. When a tool is enabled, the "Tool" tab would become active. When dropped, the other tab would. Like in Maya, the tabs can be vertically aligned along the side edge rather than horizontally across the top. Substance Paint takes a similar approach but is iconic/more like a vertical button bar rather then word/tabs. You can double-click on them to hide the panels leaving only the tabs, then double-click to restore.

jwiede
11-09-2018, 05:03 PM
Personally, I'm less concerned about "docking" versus just allowing much finer control over which panels share windows versus which ones do not (I'd honestly prefer if none shared windows, just my personal preference). The problem with most "docking" solutions from third-party utilities is that they don't deal well when the app is constantly changing what all resides within the docked window (thereby changing its dimensions frequently), and I find the "window sharing" behavior seriously exacerbates that issue.

If we could turn off "window sharing", then we could rely on the window titles & layouts w.r.t. third-party window mgmt tools. As is, it's difficult because the sharing tends to cause the dimensions and even "active pane titles" to change often.

BeeVee
11-13-2018, 03:30 AM
True, but in Modeler's case that only really applies to the Numeric window on a frequent basis. The Stats, Layers and Vertex Maps panels are all reasonably unchanging in their shape and size. What's annoying for me is Windows 10's insistence on resizing windows slightly on each restart.

B

HenrikSkoglund
11-13-2018, 05:10 AM
There are other tools you can use to give some aspects of docking. I now use DisplayFusion, a tool for multiple monitors that has docking included, but you can use the free Allsnap (http://ivanheckman.com/allsnap/) that I used before, it's very good. Of course, Windows 10 messes with snapping so you'll need to redo it each time if you are on Win10.

B

Thanks for this tip ;) I'll take a look at it. But some stuff is better off built-in. Lightwaves best chance for a future now is to at least be a really good base platform.

Markc
12-24-2018, 10:56 AM
Only just installed 2018.0.7.
It may have been fixed a while back, but my Space Navigator works in this build....:D, both in modeller and Layout pretty nicely.
Only plugin that doesn’t work is L3D quadpanels, instant crash (worked in 2018.0.6).

Bill Carey
12-24-2018, 02:14 PM
Only just installed 2018.0.7.
It may have been fixed a while back, but my Space Navigator works in this build....:D, both in modeller and Layout pretty nicely.
Only plugin that doesn’t work is L3D quadpanels, instant crash (worked in 2018.0.6).

Quadpanels is working fine here with 2018.0.7. I think it’s version 1.55. (Panel just says 1.5)

Ma3rk
12-24-2018, 03:22 PM
Quadpanels is working fine here with 2018.0.7. I think it’s version 1.55. (Panel just says 1.5)

QuadPanels! I knew I was missing something from my menus.

Just not quite enough fire for all the damn irons I seem to have acquired lately to notice when menus get changed & configs not updated. Kinda fund playing around with it to remember how it works. Particularly after making a ton of nurnifiable objects some months ago.

lardbros
12-28-2018, 09:25 AM
Only just installed 2018.0.7.
It may have been fixed a while back, but my Space Navigator works in this build....:D, both in modeller and Layout pretty nicely.
Only plugin that doesn’t work is L3D quadpanels, instant crash (worked in 2018.0.6).

I've found the 3dconnexion support to be absolutely brilliant since 2018. So glad they finally sorted it out, as it's so nice to use. Actually like the way support was added in LW. We get more control than most apps have.
Not got quadpanels unfortunately, so can't test. Would be worth bug reporting it though, for sure!

Markc
12-28-2018, 10:18 AM
I think my version is old, will check the dl link for an update.
Hopefully should be good.

Edit: Re-downloaded the plugin, which is same version I have 1.5.3.
The plugin is listed as created jan 01 1980 though?
But as mentioned previously, this same plugin works in 2018.0.6

Edit2: replaced with previous version 1.5.2 which works in 2018.0.7......!
Ver 1.5.3 instant crash.

Bill Carey
12-28-2018, 07:52 PM
Strange the older version works. Double checked, the version I have is 1.55, it was sent out in an email. Just noticed you're on a mac, tried it on that and it worked fine as well.

JohnMarchant
12-29-2018, 08:25 AM
Someone should contact James Wilmott to see if he has any updates in the works. 1.55 was sent out in an email, it was sent out in 2010.

Strider_X
12-29-2018, 09:00 AM
Is it ok to post the link from Liberty3D for the 1.55 fix

JohnMarchant
12-29-2018, 09:04 AM
As it was sent by James Wilmott directly i would say no, unless he is prepared to do it.

Marander
12-29-2018, 10:08 AM
QuadPanels 1.5.5 works fine here with LW 2018.0.4 and 2018.0.7 on Win10.

Markc
12-29-2018, 11:23 AM
Someone should contact James Wilmott to see if he has any updates in the works. 1.55 was sent out in an email, it was sent out in 2010.
Do you mean 1.5.5?
That’s bizarre as I only got 1.5.1 in 2012, 1.5.2 in 2013.
The download link on Lib3d site is 1.5.3.

JohnMarchant
12-29-2018, 05:34 PM
Sorry my bad, v 1.5 was in 2010, Got all the emails upto 1.5. I have 1.5.5 and it came out in 2017, not sure how i got that cant find an email for it. Contact James and im sure he can sort it out.

Markc
12-30-2018, 03:22 AM
Thanks John, I will send James an email......:thumbsup:

chikega
12-31-2018, 11:41 PM
Thank you! :)

gar26lw
01-10-2019, 05:29 PM
is anyone getting issues with textures not displaying when using object uv option in nodes?

Markc
01-20-2019, 07:55 AM
Further to a different issue I had with 2018.0.7, I deleted the configs.
Quadpanels 1.5.3 now works fine......:D

Dan Ritchie
01-23-2019, 01:31 PM
Is there anyway I can download these videos https://www.newtek.com/lightwave/2019/tutorials/ to watch later when I'm off-line?

JohnMarchant
01-23-2019, 01:50 PM
They are on YT i believe under LightWave 3d

Dan Ritchie
01-24-2019, 12:50 PM
They are on YT i believe under LightWave 3d


Yes. Yes they are.

Chuck
01-24-2019, 03:56 PM
Folks, there is a thread for discussing LightWave 3D 2019:

Discussion Thread for this Announcement (https://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?158990-LightWave-3D%AE-2019-is-Now-Available)

So let's let the 2018.0.7 thread rest now.