PDA

View Full Version : Move Plus Configure Menu Name



jasonwestmas
10-16-2018, 04:55 PM
Hi guys, what is the actual name of move plus that is in the modify menu for lw modeler? Move plus doesn't exist there so it must have a really weird name. Reason I ask because I want to move move plus to a different tab in the menu or create a hot key for it. Thanks!

BeeVee
10-16-2018, 05:05 PM
It's easy to find stuff that's in the menus.

143121

B

jasonwestmas
10-16-2018, 06:09 PM
Oh right duh. . .lol. I forgot you had to click the find button. Then that gives you the name in the left collumn. Funny Move Plus is just called translate =P.

jeric_synergy
10-16-2018, 07:50 PM
Oh right duh. . .lol. I forgot you had to click the find button. Then that gives you the name in the left collumn. Funny Move Plus is just called translate =P.

Yeah, fortunately only a few are like that. ::sigh::

My MAIN use of the Menu Editor is to FIND things, so it would be a GREAT feature if the SEARCH function were automagically engaged (mousing & clicking are heinously slow in UI time, really WHY THE HELL ISN'T IT ON?). Fortunately for PC users AHK can be configured to auto-click the Search box. You'd be amazed how much nicer it is that way.

It's little things like this that don't get implemented after years of requests that made me move away from LW.

jasonwestmas
10-18-2018, 12:48 PM
Yeah, fortunately only a few are like that. ::sigh::

My MAIN use of the Menu Editor is to FIND things, so it would be a GREAT feature if the SEARCH function were automagically engaged (mousing & clicking are heinously slow in UI time, really WHY THE HELL ISN'T IT ON?). Fortunately for PC users AHK can be configured to auto-click the Search box. You'd be amazed how much nicer it is that way.

It's little things like this that don't get implemented after years of requests that made me move away from LW.

mmhmm, I hear yah. The program is just too large to clean up apparently. I always have my, if only lightwave allowed me to do this or that, I could be so much faster moments (Especially with the lack of objects and old fashioned layer system). Instead we get work around advice, which is nice but so much less effective.

Well anyway, I'm still using modeler because of the lightwave cad tools. Which is the best polygon hard-surface tool set I've used to date. I've tried modo 8 and maya 2018 and they are nice, except I still get higher precision much faster inside of lwcad. This is true at least for my hard surface designs. Then the zbrush booleans and optimization tools are super great companions for 3d print models. If lightwave had lwcad and zbrush's optimizations. . .well it would rule Imo.

Probably some day I'll have to do my hard surface modeling inside of some CAD program but I'm hoping LWcad will get into layout so I don't have to learn another program. Best of luck to WTools and The Lightwave Layout people heh.