PDA

View Full Version : 29.97 / 30 fps



DannyAtZynga
10-11-2018, 10:22 AM
Hello
We are encoding outside of our TC-1 and for some technical reasons would like to send the encoder 30 fps instead of 29.97. Is there a way?

Thanks

JPulera
10-11-2018, 11:27 AM
I don't believe that will be possible, as TC1 only outputs actual broadcast video formats via SDI and 30fps is not one of them.

That said, one can set a multiviewer output such as HDMI port to full screen PROGRAM OUT if you want. And perhaps using the nVidia setup in Windows, change refresh rate to 30hz if that is even possible? 60hz should be default. .Just thinking outside the box, but that HDMI would not include the program audio - perhaps your encoder accepts an analog audio source?

Thanks

Jeff

jperbicella
10-11-2018, 12:27 PM
I believe there is also external encoders that you can purchase that allow you to convert between resolution and frame rate.

JPulera
10-11-2018, 01:21 PM
I believe there is also external encoders that you can purchase that allow you to convert between resolution and frame rate.

That's true, the Decimator MD-HX is a Swiss-Army Knife converter that lists 1080p30 as an output option (versus 1080p29.97) so that ought to do it, although costing $295, see manual here - http://decimator.com/specs/MD-HX_HARDWARE_MANUAL_FV1.3.pdf

Thanks

joseburgos
10-21-2018, 09:40 AM
That's true, the Decimator MD-HX is a Swiss-Army Knife converter that lists 1080p30 as an output option (versus 1080p29.97) so that ought to do it, although costing $295, see manual here - http://decimator.com/specs/MD-HX_HARDWARE_MANUAL_FV1.3.pdf

Thanks

I agree with Jeff and I also recommend the Decimator MD-HX to everyone I meet on a production :)

PS They have a new product MD-CROSS which seems to add cool features on top of the HX for $100 more. I don't own one yet but will soon