PDA

View Full Version : LW 2018 Volumetric lights don't have an alpha channel - can they?



DonJMyers
09-10-2018, 12:33 PM
I'm animating a flying robot and the body has an alpha channel (as always) but the volumetric lights coming out do not. I am rendering them out as a separate buffer over black which is a fine compositing solution except for this interactive project where the client wants the vol lights to have an alpha channel.

Is there some way to do this?

142793142794

Ma3rk
09-10-2018, 12:47 PM
Might the various Volumetric output buffers be of use in this case? Haven't tried them out myself, but would seem to be what they're for.

DonJMyers
09-10-2018, 04:05 PM
Yes that was what I was referring to in my post about the "separate buffer." Unfortunatley it renders over a black bknd with no alpha.