PDA

View Full Version : problem with texturing

triangle
08-29-2018, 09:06 AM
I have a problem with texturing.

I have some planks with holes in them and want to add a wood texture.
If I create a UV texture map (with the little T right at the bottom of the screen)
tried atlas and planar.
The UV creates a chaos of lines and it looks bad....
How can I texture this object right?

unfortunately I don't understand the node system...

(I'm a beginner)

Sensei
08-29-2018, 10:00 AM
1) create empty UV (press 'T' on the bottom right Modeler window, pick up [new], without any initial projection).

2) select some polygons, press Make UV Texture and pick up the same UV map name as already existing from drop-down list. Projection should be adequate to topology of selected polygons. Position, scale, rotate newly created UV map inside of UV space.

3) repeat 2) procedure with different polygons.

ps. Try it on something simpler than your object. e.g. try UV mapping box (dice for playing).
Google for "dice texture" and you will find some textures. Put it to background of UV viewport.
Try mapping each side of dice alone using above procedure. You will have to use Planar projection with various axes and rotations. And position UV vertexes in the right positions (background image as reference).

ps2. Check whether do you have the all points merged, and polygons unified. Merge Points tool, then Unify Polys. Remove 2 point polygons using Polygon Statistics window.

RPSchmidt
08-29-2018, 10:07 AM

If I create a UV texture map (with the little T right at the bottom of the screen)
tried atlas and planar.

(I'm a beginner)

tried atlas and planar.

(I'm a beginner)

This is the way I do it in Lightwave. I'm sure it's not the best way, but it works for me. There are many ways to do it, this is just one.

This also assumes your model is in layer 1.

Start with quad view and set your top left window to UV.