PDA

View Full Version : OD - Scene referencing



erikals
07-20-2018, 05:09 AM
mighty neat!

https://www.facebook.com/oliver.hotz.9/videos/10217410704321918

Ztreem
07-20-2018, 05:23 AM
Cool. Should be native. Maybe they should rename Lightwave3D to LightwaveOD soon...:)

erikals
07-20-2018, 05:32 AM
yes, once i go 2020 i'll definitely upgrade the OD Toolset

(using 11.6, but most new OD plugins require LW2018 i believe)

links >
https://vimeo.com/oliverhotz/videos
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=arHCgHlHud4
https://www.origamidigital.com/newtypo/index.php/software.html

jwiede
07-20-2018, 03:14 PM
Just to understand, the referenced objects are still pointing back to the original LWOs, correct (w.r.t. surfacing, etc.)?

So, f.e., there's still no way to surface the referenced scene objects without also affecting them in the original scene?

Hmm, what about motions? If you reference motions from a source scene, and then modify and save them in the referenced scene, will the motions in the source scene be affected? IOW, are you retargeting the referenced scene's motion file entry for the object back to the motion file in the source scene?

oliverhotz
07-20-2018, 03:31 PM
a) you can surface the objects just fine with overwrides (such as with combination of uberpass)...
b) regarding motions.. the source file is NOT being updated with motions, as that wouldnt make any sense, you want the source scene to remain as is.
c) thats why you also have the option to ignore motion updates, meaning, if you took the reference in, and added your own motion for that scene... IF the source is updated you might want to ignore its motion, since you made a scene specific motion.
d) Currently, if there's an update on the source scene, you have to click the UPDATE button in the gui to get the updated version. There's an easy way to automate that, and i will probably add is as an optional feature, but i am generally against it.

pixym
07-22-2018, 05:14 PM
Very nice addition to LW Layout !

jwiede
07-22-2018, 05:43 PM
d) Currently, if there's an update on the source scene, you have to click the UPDATE button in the gui to get the updated version. There's an easy way to automate that, and i will probably add is as an optional feature, but i am generally against it.

Maybe for now just give some indication whether the source(s) have changed? IOW, keep check timestamp, checksum data, or whatever to check whether same as before, and if so change the label of the "Update" button to "Update (modified)" or such?

That feels like a decent compromise between auto-updating, which I agree might not be optimal in this case, and leaving it completely manual so users have to track whether an update is needed.

oliverhotz
07-22-2018, 07:33 PM
Maybe for now just give some indication whether the source(s) have changed? IOW, keep check timestamp, checksum data, or whatever to check whether same as before, and if so change the label of the "Update" button to "Update (modified)" or such?

That feels like a decent compromise between auto-updating, which I agree might not be optimal in this case, and leaving it completely manual so users have to track whether an update is needed.

no worries.. i am already way way past these issues :)... i'll post another video tomorrow :) I am at the beach.. so nada today :)

oliverhotz
07-23-2018, 08:07 AM
updated video:

https://vimeo.com/281270781