PDA

View Full Version : Move points to a grid



vgabex
07-17-2018, 01:28 AM
Hi, I' looking for a tool that does this:

142275

I'd like to move the points (yellow) to a grid's nearest position (green) automatically.

Does anyone know a solution for this?

Many thasnks!

Asticles
07-17-2018, 03:37 AM
Hi,

Try Quantize Tool

Modify > Transform > More > Quantize

Regards

prometheus
07-17-2018, 06:43 AM
as Asticles says...and set the same amount in quantize as your grid is set to.
Otherwise...manually grid snap if you do not have to much points to work with, set fixed snapping with the same distance as the grid is,
then use snap drag tool so you just have to drag and snap without having to selecting points.

PeT
07-19-2018, 03:32 AM
you also can try [ Heat Shrink ]

erikals
07-19-2018, 04:57 AM
yep, use Grid Snap Fixed, the manual way >

https://i.imgur.com/Hq3ELPv.png



http://forums.newtek.com/images/misc/quote_icon.pngAsticles
Modify > Transform > More > Quantize

Awesome, didn't know this :)

prometheus
07-19-2018, 06:47 AM
you also can try [ Heat Shrink ]

quantize is faster...if you use heat shrink, it will not work with the Display grid, you have to make polygons dividied exactly as the grid size you want, and put it in the background and run heatshrink, but yeah...it works.
One advantage though...if it may be of any use, with heatshrink you can seemlessly dial in how much you want it to reach the original grid instead of snapping it completely, or just get a preview if you need that...if that would be of any use.

Edit...
Another good use of that may be when working with floorplanes, and if you bevel or extend walls, but you need to snap it in fixed grid..heatshrink may have its use for it.