PDA

View Full Version : Backdrop image sequence



Boris Goreta
07-14-2018, 02:44 AM
What is the reason that we still can't have smooth playback with backdrop image sequences when GPUs have 12GB of RAM and all images can fit inside it ?

ernpchan
07-14-2018, 06:55 AM
Not sure. The workaround would be to use a movie file instead.

Sensei
07-14-2018, 07:18 AM
What is the reason that we still can't have smooth playback with backdrop image sequences when GPUs have 12GB of RAM and all images can fit inside it ?

You're probably mixing file size on disk with raw compressed data on GPU.
PNG can have e.g. 400 KB on disk, but after decompression it'll have e.g. 8 MB in raw 32 bit RGBA format..
12 GB / 8 MB = 51 seconds @ 30 FPS
But I don't think so LW will upload the all images, just one, because it wouldn't have enough memory to store vertexes and polygons and other stuff..