PDA

View Full Version : Curve to 2point poly chain? / noob level / repeatable bugs, not reported/ BUGS



jeric_synergy
06-28-2018, 12:41 AM
To answer another user's question, I needed a 2-point poly chain. I wanted to start w/a Curve and directly convert it, but that didn't seem possible.

Since I've forgotten the steps I looked it up (and it seemed roundabout): the answer seemed to be to RAIL EXTRUDE either a Point or a 1point poly.

Attempting to RAIL EXTRUDE a Point got a weird error:
142038

Nice. Informative!!! :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Attempting to extrude a 1 point polygon generated a series of OVERLAPPING 2point polygons, not a polygon chain. :devil:

I can't be arsed to submit YABR, so, someone tell me: is converting a CURVE to a 2point polygon chain natively supported in LWM2018?

raw-m
06-28-2018, 02:16 AM
No. You’ll want this, it’s invaluable - use it all the time:
https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/ef-toggle-linescurves/

prometheus
06-28-2018, 06:04 AM
As raw-m says ...otherwise natively setup/strandmaker...it puts the polychain in a second layer, and keeps the original curve in the first layer.
Natively you also got create/polygons/more/create polychain.

Starting from scratch without a curve you can use the line pen and then use the vertex snap only.

just adding a point and hit e for extend works too, without converting to a one point poly first.
While railextruding should probably be done by converting a point to a one poly point initially.

jeric_synergy
06-28-2018, 06:47 AM
No. You’ll want this, it’s invaluable - use it all the time:
https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/ef-toggle-linescurves/

Ahhh, right, that's the one I used to use, like you, all the time. :thumbsup:


I GUESS I should submit those bugs.... Sisyphean task. :grumpy: :grumpy: :grumpy:

jeric_synergy
06-28-2018, 07:32 AM
RELATED (so new comment):

POINT ORDER (again): it happens that I made this curve, I made it from a Box by selecting a midline set of points. As it happens, the points are sequential, EXCEPT for the far-right point, it being #1, and all the rest starting and in sequence from left to right (IOW, #2 is on the far left).

Is there a way to RE-ORDER the points so that they are in the selection order, rather than creation order? I don't expect miracles, but I'd hope that creating a Curve, for instance, in a particular order (and the labor involved in that selection, which can be non-significant) can be preserved by c/p'ing that Curve into another layer.

I especially would hope this given that selection order/point order is used in various ways in LW modeling and animating. That is: given that they are used, I'd hope there would be tools to modify them. (OTOH, sadly, the state of Layers gives a strong anti-example.)

Sensei
06-28-2018, 04:53 PM
No. Youíll want this, itís invaluable - use it all the time:
https://www.lightwave3d.com/assets/plugins/entry/ef-toggle-linescurves/

You have EasySpline
http://easyspline.trueart.eu
so you can use Spline Density interactive tool:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfgTdxWSCCk

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfgTdxWSCCk
It will quantize the all selected curves to specified number of segments.