PDA

View Full Version : New Nvidia Titan has 32 GB of VRAM.



Ernest
06-21-2018, 01:18 PM
https://techreport.com/news/33835/nvidia-titan-v-ceo-edition-boasts-32-gb-of-hbm2-for-neural-networks

The Titan V CEO Edition was announced, obviously, by the CEO.

It's a VERY limited edition for now, but it's still interesting that we've gotten there.

TheLexx
06-21-2018, 01:45 PM
That's good news. Obviously a pricey card, but one PC running a card like that with the upcoming free version of Octane.....maybe it could pump out character animation rapidly at, say, 720p.... I'm currently reading the Albee book about Kaze, and compared to the machine he had, the mind boggles.... :)

thomascheng
06-21-2018, 03:37 PM
between 3k to 9k. I think it will be better to buy a few threadripper machines.

Markc
06-22-2018, 11:24 AM
That would probably need some serious power also.......:hey:

vonpietro
06-22-2018, 11:41 AM
whats this about octane being free?

TheLexx
06-22-2018, 11:59 AM
whats this about octane being free?

The license model is changing with Octane 4 - scroll down on link under Licenses (https://home.otoy.com/render/octane-render/).
"New licensing structure will be available soon, including a free tier".

I heard this is for one user up to 2 GPUs, even for commercial work, and will also have free access to around half of the software interface plugins. If that is true, my own personal hunch is that LW will be one of those.

vonpietro
06-22-2018, 06:34 PM
oh, thats exciting news - very exciting!!

pixym
06-22-2018, 09:36 PM
I wonder how much cuda cores…

rustythe1
06-23-2018, 04:23 AM
The license model is changing with Octane 4 - scroll down on link under Licenses (https://home.otoy.com/render/octane-render/).
"New licensing structure will be available soon, including a free tier".

I heard this is for one user up to 2 GPUs, even for commercial work, and will also have free access to around half of the software interface plugins. If that is true, my own personal hunch is that LW will be one of those.

its not quite understood, you actually only get the standalone version free, and then you pay for the plugin, but with the free version only half the plugins work, so if the lw plugin dosnt work with the free version, it wont be free

TheLexx
06-23-2018, 05:13 AM
@ rustythe1, quite true, thanks for clarifying since my hunches do not constitute fact. :)

Now AMD have announced (https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cpu_mainboard/amd_s_ryzen_threadripper_2nd_gen_2990x_32-core_cpu_specs_leak/1)a 2nd Generation Ryzen Threadripper CPU with 32 cores/64 threads, could anyone open up the comment earlier about a few threadripper machines being preferable up to the same budget as this GPU. Would the speed be comparable ?

rustythe1
06-23-2018, 06:27 AM
you see that is the good question, and as far as I can see its where it gets a little grey, just try searching for comparison videos, its almost like they don't want you to know the truth, anyone who seems to show "octane is fast" only seems to have something like a 4xTitan card rig, and even then I see people taking over an hour to render internal viz images, so again like above you could afford a whole farm of threadrippers (over 2000 for a titan in the uk, only 900 for a threadripper), and I would hazard a guess it would be a lot faster, and the hardware would last longer as the cooling options would be a lot cheaper and effective,

erikals
06-23-2018, 09:35 AM
rough estimation >

GPU is about twice as fast.
GPU use about twice the energy
GPU, you can have 2-3 cards in one PC
GPU, easy to replace and sell

regarding Octane, i think the additional render licenses are *expensive ($400) ...at the moment ...*relative

5 additional cards, it will cost you $2000 in licenses

also the Octane ai denoiser is nice, but not that much nicer than a temporal video denoiser,
you will get that "interpolated animation look" with splotches, though quite minimal.
the result is quite alright, but a little less magic perhaps than some say

for movies / cartoons, CPU still is valueable.

if you have the cash, Octane, or a free GPU render engine, it is certainly worth it.


for very realistic animations, i'd say go for a GPU engine.
for interior > Kray.

erikals
06-23-2018, 09:47 AM
Threadripper is cool, but still costs quite some cash compared to GPU

expensive CPU + expensive motherboard

----------------------------------------------------

Ryzen 1700 looks to be the best versus price.

cheap CPU + cheap motherboard

----------------------------------------------------

based on render power,
Threadripper costs 30% more than it is worth
+ the motherboard is 250% more expensive

is it worth it...? meeh... maybe...

Markc
06-23-2018, 11:20 AM
Have I missed the news......:stumped:
I thought Octane ONLY worked with a CUDA GPU?

erikals
06-23-2018, 11:29 AM
several here talking GPU/Octane vs CPU/Threadripper
advantage / disadvantage

Markc
06-23-2018, 11:35 AM
Ah I see, I thought they where rendering with CPU and Octane.....:)

erikals
06-23-2018, 11:38 AM
maybe in the future :)

tyrot
06-23-2018, 01:13 PM
afaik they are kinda working on it :)

Marander
06-23-2018, 04:34 PM
rough estimation >

GPU is about twice as fast.


In my experience with Cycles, iRay, TFD, ProRender and other GPU accelerated 3d applications, GPU is about 7 to 12 times as fast as an i7 CPU. Some stuff (like cloud particle rendering in Cycles) was not usable on CPU but worked well on GPU. But large scenes are better handled in CPU rendering due to memory consumption.

One thing to consider is that GPUs are not as durable as CPUs with constant 100% load.

I haven't tried Octane yet but of course it depends on the GPU / CPU models. I would compare a 7th or 8th gen 6 core i7 with a GF1080ti to start with. GPU should be significantly faster.

On the AMD side I have no experience with the current line of CPUs but some experiences of early adopters I know were not convincing regarding stability.

Octane 4 is certainly interesting but I would prefer Redshift as a GPU renderer currently. On the other hand, the full Octane 4 license would provide support for several of my 3d apps the same time.

samurai_x
06-23-2018, 11:40 PM
rough estimation >

GPU is about twice as fast.
GPU use about twice the energy
GPU, you can have 2-3 cards in one PC
GPU, easy to replace and sell

regarding Octane, i think the additional render licenses are *expensive ($400) ...at the moment ...*relative

5 additional cards, it will cost you $2000 in licenses

also the Octane ai denoiser is nice, but not that much nicer than a temporal video denoiser,
you will get that "interpolated animation look" with splotches, though quite minimal.
the result is quite alright, but a little less magic perhaps than some say

for movies / cartoons, CPU still is valueable.

if you have the cash, Octane, or a free GPU render engine, it is certainly worth it.


for very realistic animations, i'd say go for a GPU engine.
for interior > Kray.


Redshift is at least 10 times faster than the average cpu renderer and maybe 5 times faster than vray. :D

50one
06-24-2018, 01:47 AM
In Octane on two gpus, rendering 25mil poly object - heavy assembly from solidworks, textured - glossy reflections etc. Takes 12second per frame at FHD no difference with DOF or MB, you would be mad these days to look again at CPU rendering.

tyrot
06-24-2018, 01:59 AM
In Octane on two gpus, rendering 25mil poly object - heavy assembly from solidworks, textured - glossy reflections etc. Takes 12second per frame at FHD no difference with DOF or MB, you would be mad these days to look again at CPU rendering.

exactly

Markc
06-24-2018, 02:33 AM
In Octane on two gpus, rendering 25mil poly object - heavy assembly from solidworks, textured - glossy reflections etc. Takes 12second per frame at FHD no difference with DOF or MB, you would be mad these days to look again at CPU rendering.

That being said, a recent TFD video I watched from L3D had to use the CPU for rendering because the GPU couldn't handle it.

samurai_x
06-24-2018, 06:17 AM
That being said, a recent TFD video I watched from L3D had to use the CPU for rendering because the GPU couldn't handle it.

TFD doesn't have out of core tech right afaik.
And anyway the new renderers are going for hybrid renderers. The speed boost from gpu is huge with Cycles.

50one
06-24-2018, 06:55 AM
As always depends what you do...if it's architectural visualisations then CPU/Vray is still unbeatable combo.

For a freelancer the cost of running a decent GPU rig is quite high...however the crypto market is somehow slowing down and facing a crash so hopefully the prices will cone down soon.

I need to replace my old rig(almost 8yrs old) and will look into this by the end of the year.

rustythe1
06-24-2018, 07:12 AM
As always depends what you do...if it's architectural visualisations then CPU/Vray is still unbeatable combo.

For a freelancer the cost of running a decent GPU rig is quite high...however the crypto market is somehow slowing down and facing a crash so hopefully the prices will cone down soon.

I need to replace my old rig(almost 8yrs old) and will look into this by the end of the year.

and the fact you cant even buy certain models as they have been out of stock and on pre order for months, water cooled 1070 ti is like gold dust at the moment, which is a pain as they are the most cost effective, scan have 1070ti hybrid for 500, but only on preorder with no expected date, rest of the TIs are slowly vanishing too, 1080s are nearly 2 to 3 times the price but not actually much better in benchmarks, some people saying around 5 to 10%

50one
06-24-2018, 07:18 AM
True, the difference I seen between 1070 or 1080 performance wise is not worth that extra .

Markc
06-24-2018, 07:39 AM
Presumably this is due to mining......again?
I had the same problem last year trying to get my RX580 Pulse.

50one
06-24-2018, 10:44 AM
Yes the mining industry really Fcked GCard market, so really hoping this whole bubble will burst as soon as possible.

erikals
06-24-2018, 02:11 PM
http://forums.newtek.com/images/misc/quote_icon.pngMarander
In my experience with Cycles, iRay, TFD, ProRender and other GPU accelerated 3d applications, GPU is about 7 to 12 times as fast as an i7 CPU.
reading some more tests, the number gets to be around 4-5 times faster...
that's quite good.

quite difficult to estimate based on what i've seen and what others on the web say.

rustythe1
06-24-2018, 03:00 PM
yes, that's my issue with it, do I want to fork out the cash based on one moment some one will make a comment "you could render that in seconds in octane" and then next the very same person will post a render "rendered in octane, 52 mins on 4 titans", ummm but if I go back to 2015 I can render that on a single cpu in 20 mins? cant someone just do side by side render comparisons? a single card vs a single high end cpu? in theory could you not even do it on the same machine at the same time? same scene in two instances of LW?

TheLexx
06-24-2018, 03:48 PM
Add to the mix that I think Rebelhill said something along the lines that the new LW renderer set up properly is significantly faster than the old one, and combine that with the new generation of CPU due to release.

rustythe1
06-24-2018, 04:40 PM
yes, I would say cpu is accelerating again, core counts are starting to double quite frequently, where as GPU is only increasing a max of 130% and the time between seems to be getting further apart, im guessing its starting to bottleneck like cpu did and now they have to wait for the motherboard manufactures (that's an area a lot of people forget, its actually the MB manufactures that have the most influence, no point having a 200 core chip and no mo bo or OS to support it) to catch up,
in fact I just checked, slow down is dramatic, sure you could count ti etc as a new version, but series 1 to 9 came out in sequential years 99 to 2008, 100 to 800 every 6 months or less 2010 to 2014, 900 series came out in 2014, so nearly 5 years now and only 1 upgrade!

erikals
06-25-2018, 04:05 AM
...and, here is a guy saying Octane doesn't match at all, that he needs 3x 1080 GPUs to match the ThreadRipper.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/lightwiki/permalink/1450387095067285

so...

...and here another guy rendering an interior in only 6min in Octane (with denoiser)
https://www.facebook.com/groups/lightwiki/permalink/1451076701664991

erikals
06-25-2018, 04:23 AM
http://forums.newtek.com/images/misc/quote_icon.pngrustythe1
can't someone just do side by side render comparisons?

Exactly! so damn hard to find more fair examples.

i've seen 2 same scene / same application renders comparisons
and the result showed that GPU was about 8-9 times faster, however, not compared with so good CPU's so, let's say, 6-7 times faster
still, that is quite good.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gJf46RPyejg
i'd think though that the software was not optimized for CPU.
to compensate, let's say, 4-5 times faster. but still, even then, that is quite good.

from what i can tell the smartest choice now is to use 2x 1070 GPU (price/performance) and Octane 4 with the denoiser
for a renderfarm, one could consider a free render engine that has GPU support.

for NPR animations, CPU can still kick it.

that said, don't dismiss Kray for interiors.

50one
06-25-2018, 06:57 AM
rendered in octane, 52 mins on 4 titans"


Like I said, depends what you do, Architecture / interiors or some crazy mumbojumbo with milions of polygons and refraction/SSS - yes, Octane could be faster but still could take an hour to render, whereas CPU could take 12h easily, seen that.

Also, there's also the "moar" factor, you start rendering your old scenes and notice the speed-up, so you throw glossy reflections on everything, more lights, maybe some volumetrics, Motion Blur? Sure, why do that in post! DOF? Yes please, SSS? Sounds great!
...and you end up with just a tiny speedup lol

rustythe1
06-25-2018, 07:49 AM
ahh, see now that is pulling the wool over the eyes again, that actually shows that a single gtx980 card is only 2.37 times as fast as an i5 6600 (a cpu is a cpu regardless of how many cores! you cant compare cores to cards!), so working that out my cpu should actually be quite a bit faster than a single gtx980 being as it scores nearly 1950 on cinebench overclocked, and a stock turbo 6600 only scores 602, (so over 3 times as fast)
and that is what bugged me about this whole "a gpu is x amount of times faster than a cpu" yea, but what cpu?
and the threadripper has well over 1000 higher score than my cpu so I would say 1 threadripper is worth at least 2 GTX980 at first glance

50one
06-25-2018, 08:00 AM
Point being, I used to do animations that took anywhere between two minutes to 10 minutes per frame on CPU, still noisey tho - Vray/Modo...these days I can pull no noise anims in FHD below a minute(lots of polys and closeups - renderers don't like that it seems) and 30 seconds for "floating objects" with AO and few other AOVs.

I'm not working for octane nor advocating it's use...just saying it works for me and that matters.
Your mileage can vary.

erikals
06-25-2018, 05:11 PM
also, 4x graphics cards won't cut it any more in Octane v4, it is limited to 2

in Octane v3 however, the limit is 4 >

...If your motherboard can accept more than one video card, adding additional video cards will greatly improve Octane’s rendering speed because Octane’s performance scales perfectly with the number of GPUs (e.g. rendering with four GTX Titans will be 4x faster than using only 1 GTX Titan)

TheLexx
06-25-2018, 05:52 PM
also, 4x graphics cards won't cut it any more in Octane v4, it is limited to 2

in Octane v3 however, the limit is 4 >

Do you mean 2 for the free version of Octane 4, as I believe subscription "unlocks" 20 ?

erikals
06-25-2018, 05:57 PM
will it ?   i'll have to wait and see i guess

so much stuff to keep track of...  [agh]

TheLexx
06-25-2018, 06:32 PM
You've put a doubt in my own mind now :), but here is a post mentioning it -
https://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?156486-Octane-render-V4&p=1541022&viewfull=1#post1541022

Thought I saw it mentioned elsewhere too, possibly captioned on that orginal vid (which I now can't find anywhere).

erikals
06-25-2018, 07:30 PM
guess we'll see   :)

currently i'll stick to Octane v3, and a temporal video denoiser

+need to test 11.6 a bit further for NPR