PDA

View Full Version : Question: sampling volume (not volumetric...)/ generating lo-rez standins/ Part node



jeric_synergy
06-13-2018, 06:42 PM
Decades ago, when Videoscape/Lightwave ruled the.. Amiga world, I wrote an AREXX script that would divvy up an object/mesh in a rectangular XYZ matrix, and if there were polys inside a given division it would generate a box. If not, no box. This was a way of automatically creating extremely low-rez "standin meshes" that could be used to speed up interaction and rendering in the program.

How would a user do this nowadays? I'm no longer worried about speed, but I kinda want to play with the EFFECT, especially when using LW2018 Part Node Move/Scale/Rotate.

I'm sorta imaging one could do this without scripting, somehow.

jeric_synergy
06-14-2018, 01:12 AM
IMAGINING one could etc etc...

BeeVee
06-14-2018, 03:07 AM
Have a look at the RayCast example in the docs: https://docs.lightwave3d.com/display/LW2018/Example+-+Inside+RayCast

B

jeric_synergy
06-14-2018, 07:56 AM
Have a look at the RayCast example in the docs: https://docs.lightwave3d.com/display/LW2018/Example+-+Inside+RayCast

B

That looks just about perfect, thanks! :thumbsup:

Now I'll just hunt down the "Instances To Object" links and voila! I mean, "WALLAUGH!".

jeric_synergy
06-14-2018, 08:14 AM
QUESTION:
?? What is the GRADIENT node doing in the network? What is its function??

Thanks.

++++++++++
( jfyi: Modeler froze up on me while creating my objects to test this....)

Ztreem
06-14-2018, 09:04 AM
QUESTION:
?? What is the GRADIENT node doing in the network? What is its function??



Nothing. You don't need it. I guess it must be a leftover from some earlier testing.

jeric_synergy
06-14-2018, 02:47 PM
Ztreem, correct. I think the idea was to change a scalar to vector, but it doesn't matter, since IIRC a scalar to a vector input is just duplicated 3 times.

This has led me to a guaranteed (here) crashing bug: if you load the attached packaged scene, and then resize layer 2 in LWM, on SYNCHRONIZE Layout crashes, 100% here.

I've been using a 50% scale in LWM, but I think any scale change will kill layout.

141968

Submitted.
(Case LWB-4066) Crashing bug: resizing instanced mesh crashes Layout

++++++++++

While this is very close to what I want, I wonder if there's a way to get just the SHELL, rather than the entire interior?

MonroePoteet
06-15-2018, 11:56 AM
Also be sure to check out Mark Warner's (raw-m) excellent tutorial:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S91xZ0POhy0

mTp

jeric_synergy
06-15-2018, 03:50 PM
Also be sure to check out Mark Warner's (raw-m) excellent tutorial:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S91xZ0POhy0

mTp

Thanks for the pointer: I'm a huge MW fan. :thumbsup: