PDA

View Full Version : SubPatch to Nurbs Export as Cad Splines IGES | Step etc



3dhotshot
06-06-2018, 10:58 AM
Is this a possibility as some of my project where I work I do modelling in LW then the Prototyping team has to redraw from scratch most of the time in Fusion 360 or Pro Engineer and the model is not anything like modellers subpatch quality and many details is lost.

I see LWCad is starting to work in Nurbs but still better to have SupD to cad file exporter in LW that keep the Subd lines just converts them over to cad Splines whilst still keeping the shapes. So they can use exact file to create a 3d print or send for tooling to be Vac Formed.

Example below of Model to be Vac Formed the final prototype failed to show fine details of my SubD model as the Protoype team did not do a good job recreating the details.

141934

06-08-2018, 10:04 AM
Hi,
What you want to do in this case is to freeze your model.
The tool you are using only sees the cage, not the subd. Thus, you have to freeze the object prior to sending it to an outside tool.
This is invaluable when 3D printing and all those details are desired.
Robert

Edit: Ctrl-d will get it frozen.

bbuxton
06-10-2018, 05:52 AM
https://cyborg3d.com/SubD2CADProductPage.html
nPower also do a plugin that handles this for Modo.
Works well but be sure to be careful with edge flow and creasing for best results.

3dhotshot
06-14-2018, 05:07 AM
thanks for comments I did freeze and have exported successfully as STL however the team using Autodesk Fusion 360 had poor results I found this method works better in Pro Engineer.

@bbuxton yes I did look into nPower I still am yet to test this with Modo.

in a perfect world in LW to keep an accurate spline to cad mesh without freezing with be ideal for LW future developments however maybe LWCad will solve this for modeller.

At this time there is no real cad nurb exporter for LWCad 5xx.