PDA

View Full Version : Apple removing support for OpenGL/CL in the near future.

Morgan Nilsson
06-05-2018, 04:04 PM
https://developer.apple.com/macos/whats-new/

Hello!

As you can see from the link above, Apple is clearly intending to remove support for OpenGL/CL entirely in favor of their own API, Metal. I was curious what this means for Lightwave running on the macOS platform moving forward.

Seeing as I am not a developer or know anything of code, I can't even begin to think of how difficult it would be to port an existing codebase that is heavily relying on OpenGL which I imagine Lightwave in its current form is. Is there risk of Lightwave dropping macOS support entirely in light of these news? It would be great if we could hear from NewTek/LWG about this as I imagine others are worried about these news as well.

Best regards
//Morgan

rsfd
06-06-2018, 02:22 AM
It isn't a big surprise that Apple plans to remove support for OpenGL/OpenCL, as Metal -similar to other low-level API- has clear advantages.
I wouldn't expect that to happen for years though. I would expect a similar process as it had been with the move from Classic Mac OS to OSX with Carbon and Cocoa API.
In the end, Apple needed to force the big software houses to finally do their homework, as many had used Carbon to migrate their applications to OSX but then draw out the move to Cocoa to make native OSX applications.
And Apple needs to continue to develop the Metal-API too, as it still isn't "fully featured".

The migration does not seem to be extraordinary difficult: Luxology/Foundry had shown a Modo tech demo running with Metal some years ago at WWDC which was done in a pretty short time.
But nothing has changed in Modo's production releases since then. And no official words on that topic.

The future of LW-Mac (and other Mac-versions of various "bigger" software packages) comes down to the will, the resources and devotion of the developer team(s).