PDA

View Full Version : Reality Capture tutorial



Philbert
05-11-2018, 08:30 PM
Hey guys, just wanted to share that I have a new tutorial on 3D scanning with a camera using Reality Capture.


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3CxhpdUCde4

pixym
05-11-2018, 10:37 PM
Thanks for the head up

XswampyX
05-13-2018, 05:46 PM
Thanks for that. It's a bit of an elaborate set up. Can you do something similar with a building or statue out in the real world?

I know you can, but will you? :D

OlaHaldor
05-14-2018, 03:32 AM
I tested this a few months ago, with 3D Zephyr.

It was a test, only a few photos (about 20-30 perhaps?)


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fdkKx3Gv7Gk

At first it shows the original scan.
Then I switch to a retopoed version with baked textures.

OlaHaldor
05-14-2018, 03:38 AM
Another one, taken next to the path in a forest

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SBXjqgI1Z7k

Gungho3D
05-14-2018, 10:00 PM
First impressions: can't knock the mesh output of Phil's Reality Capture demo, but the pricing is a bit exce$$ive for me.

The 3D Zephyr offering seems a bit more accessible price-wise, but that's without having put either product through any testing of my own.

OlaHaldor
05-16-2018, 02:16 AM
I tested Reality Capture when it was in beta, and free for anyone to try. But when I saw the pricing, it's simply a no go. Way too expensive. I guess they have their market, but I'm certainly not part of it, sadly.
My experience with Reality Capture is it's blazing fast, and usually get good results.

Zephyr is also good, just not as fast. Doesn't take any more effort to get good results like Reality Capture in my opinion. After all it's all in the photos you take. Do they overlap enough, are they sharp etc.

Philbert
05-16-2018, 04:27 PM
I will be doing at least one more tutorial and it will be outside. Actually one of the VFW Posts nearby has a tank out front and I was thinking of testing how it will work on that. I did test with a bronze statue of Ben Franklin that was outside and it had just rained so that was a good test.

141735
141736

Another option is trying to use my drone to scan a larger thing like a building.

Gungho3D
05-16-2018, 07:22 PM
I will be doing at least one more tutorial and it will be outside. Actually one of the VFW Posts nearby has a tank out front and I was thinking of testing how it will work on that. I did test with a bronze statue of Ben Franklin that was outside and it had just rained so that was a good test.

Another option is trying to use my drone to scan a larger thing like a building.
Cool Phil - some of us may see this product as not being required for current needs, but posts and tutes like yours which demonstrate niche capability are always a plus

Philbert
05-16-2018, 07:27 PM
Don't forget I have an older tutorial on doing this same thing with free software. It's actually the most popular photogrammetry tutorial on YouTube.

https://youtu.be/D6eqW6yk50k

OlaHaldor
05-17-2018, 01:53 AM
Very, very nice statue on the bench! Incredible! :D

Philbert
05-17-2018, 03:22 AM
I did have a little trouble with the statue on the top of his head and some of the back. I was rushing to take the pictures because there was a low wall around him that people were waiting to sit on. lol But it's a good example of how you can just whip out your phone at a moments notice, take the pictures, then process when you get home. I was actually just walking out of a dentist check up when I noticed him.

erikals
05-17-2018, 03:31 AM
just mentioning PhotoScan ($179)

tischbein3
05-17-2018, 09:09 AM
thanks for the tut phil. Interesting to see reality capture in action

@erikals, there some comparisons between rc and pscan, the general notion seems to be, that pscan is a tad better in the result but waaaay slower.
(it took me less time to sculpt this:
http://www.splotchdog.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=90
than to calculate the model in pscan ;)

And this isn't even the higherst quality

but yeah, considering the price of rc its a good option for people who do not scan everyday

erikals
05-17-2018, 11:17 AM
there are ways to speed up in PhotoScan
like activating the Gpu
https://blog.paperspace.com/gpu-acceleration-in-agisoft-photoscan
and typing in commands
http://www.agisoft.com/forum/index.php?topic=8193.0

long time since i took it for a run though...

tischbein3
05-17-2018, 11:37 AM
bookmarked, will try them next time I scan something, thanks !