PDA

View Full Version : LightWave 2018 VPR

jamesw767
05-09-2018, 10:29 AM
I'm looking into purchasing a new workstation I was wondering does the VPR Update faster with higher core count or with faster cores

Snosrap
05-09-2018, 07:09 PM
I'm looking too and I was considering the Ryzen 1700X with 8cores 16 threads. So this is a good question that I'm very interested hearing responses. My gut says go with more cores when it comes to anything involving CPU rendering, but let's see what the experts say. :)

Ma3rk
05-09-2018, 08:59 PM
Hardly an expert but been researching for awhile now. Take a look at the vid in this collection titled Professional Overclocking, ~ 2/3 down the page.

http://www.boxx.com/video-library

MonroePoteet
05-10-2018, 08:08 AM
I'm no expert, but I'd say "both". :)

Here's a screen shot of the Performance screen in Windows Task Manager when I'm holding down ALT and rapidly rotating the VPR Perspective view with the mouse. While doing so, it utilizes all eight cores, so the VPR rendering correctly uses multi-cored processors. And, of course, depending on how many objects / surfaces it has to render, the faster the cores the better.

mTp

Snosrap
05-10-2018, 12:45 PM
Yep - that makes sense because they say VPR "is" the renderer in 2018. I still wonder if say a 3.4 ghz with 4 cores outperforms say a 2.4 ghz with 8 cores.

erikals
05-10-2018, 01:11 PM
it's the same rule as in LightWave 2015 really.

so as long as it is "fast" it really doesn't matter

higher core count is often a good thing, though not always.

check the web to see what CPUs are the best ones versus price.

examples >
https://www.cgdirector.com/best-cpu-for-rendering/

erikals
05-10-2018, 02:20 PM
just bought a used i7 3930k
overclocked it is close to the speed of a Ryzen 1800X

only way cheaper

MonroePoteet
05-10-2018, 04:04 PM
Yep - that makes sense because they say VPR "is" the renderer in 2018. I still wonder if say a 3.4 ghz with 4 cores outperforms say a 2.4 ghz with 8 cores.