PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave 2018 - Help with FiberFX and Light node editor!

Paul_Boland
04-10-2018, 05:54 PM
Hi Folks.

I'm in need for more help with Lightwave 2018 please...

First, FiberFX. I've never used this so I'm totally new to it. I have a sphere and the polygons on the top half of it are called Top and the polygons on the bottom half of it are called Bottom. I want to apply fiberFX differently to the two surfaces. But when I apply them, whatever I apply to the Top seems to mirror onto the Bottom. What am I doing wrong?

Second, I'm trying to set a light to Linear Falloff and I'm using the help in the Lights section of the online Lightwave 2018 documentation. I have applied the Linear Falloff node and wired it up as show in the diagram in the manual but when I double click on the Falloff node to adjust the falloff distance, it's greyed out and I can't adjust it. Can anyone help me with this?

Kryslin
04-11-2018, 12:03 AM
While I can' help with the light problem, I can help with the FFX problem.

In FFX, right click on your sphere, and select clone. This gives you a second instance of FFX that you can give different settings. Though really, if it's as simple as a different color, you can use an image map

If your object is subdivided, you have to have your display subd's and render subd's the same. If you're animating them make sure subdivision is moved to the bottom of the list.

FiberFX makes a lot of surface texture variation; since there are no FiberFX samples to increase, you will have to increase AA samples to clean it up. It's an exception to the samples before AA passes rule.

FiberFX is fastest under normal lights; Environment Lights are slower, and if you have a couple hours or more, radiosity.

DogBoy
04-11-2018, 03:20 AM