PDA

View Full Version : Clipmap is not effective in Octane



pekka varis
04-08-2018, 12:38 AM
Hello!

I have a very simple problem. I try to use clipmap ( Z distance to null object ) to make an animated boolean.

I found this solution here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=azM5_U4FzLY

Thanks dwburman!

But as I tried to use this solution with octane for lightwave I found that it was not effective. Why? How can I replicate this same simple clipmap method to octane renders?

Here you can see that even LW VPR view shows hat the clipmat is working ok, in the octane render there is no effect:

141087

Pekka

OFF
04-08-2018, 06:56 AM
you need use opacity channel octane materials instead clipmap.

pekka varis
04-08-2018, 10:05 AM
ok, thank you! I study this :)

pekka varis
04-10-2018, 03:31 AM
Hello!

I found the opacity channel octane materials - But what now? I cannot connect gradient to it...

141122

Pekka

tyrot
04-10-2018, 03:42 AM
how about watching lightwave - octane tutorials at youtube :) or reading just a bit manual. ...

pekka varis
04-10-2018, 03:45 AM
Yes ,thank you.. I have been doing here like 2 hours today :)

pekka varis
04-13-2018, 06:42 AM
I have tried everything but I just cannot make this. Please can someone help?

141182

How do I use gradient based on null object postition, to make animated booleans with octrane?

All I need is to hide object after it as travelled under 0 on y. So it disappears on ground level.. I do this cos I am animating a stack of flying papers on glass table. So I need those papers not to be visible under the glass anymore..

Yours,
Pekka

Asticles
04-13-2018, 06:55 AM
Have you tried animating object dissolve?

pekka varis
04-13-2018, 07:53 AM
Yes, But I do not understand how it could help here, since it works by the manual:

1. dissolving object from 0-100% as whole object
2. Distance dissolving object based on the distance to camera

Hoe could I make it to dissolve object based on y position, like the table surface is ?

Pekka

MonroePoteet
04-13-2018, 08:31 AM
I don't have Octane, but you should be able to use just a Scalar Layer node set up as a Gradient fed into the Octane Opacity channel. This example uses the Transparency channel on the Principled BSDF material.

141184

mTp

pekka varis
04-13-2018, 08:50 AM
Oh, thank you MonroePoteet!
But the Scalar Layer node does not connect to the opacity channel of Octane Glossy material.. see the image please:

141186

Pekka

MonroePoteet
04-13-2018, 09:38 AM
Oh, thank you MonroePoteet!
But the Scalar Layer node does not connect to the opacity channel of Octane Glossy material.. see the image please:

141186

Pekka

OK. I didn't notice the very subtle color difference between the green Scalar type and the bluish-green Opacity input. Looking at the Octane for Lightwave 3D manual, here:

https://docs.otoy.com/Lightwave3DH/Lightwave3DPluginManual.htm

that bluish-green input type is apparently an Octane "Texture Image Node", documented here:

https://docs.otoy.com/Lightwave3DH/Lightwave3DPluginManual.htm#Lightwave3D/TextureNodes.htm?Highlight=texture%20image

Which apparently requires a UV map on the object, and appears to have a Scalar input for Translate U and Translate V which may allow animation of the texture on the UV map.

As I said, I don't use Octane so I can't be of further assistance. Good luck!

mTp

pekka varis
04-16-2018, 01:14 AM
All Right, I got some progress here!

Thank you all - here is a video showing how I did it with octane:
http://www.catchline.fi/toveri/OCTANE.webm

141241

But how can I make the black&white image I have made to be in "World Coordinates" ?

So when I move the ball in lightwave up or down, the invisible are stays on world coordinates at the same place, like water surface.. Now it moves with the ball and this is not what I am looking for.

Yours,
Pekka

squarewulf
04-16-2018, 09:49 AM
You can't use gradients in octane. You'll have to use an image mapped with black and white values.

EDIT: Some how missed the last post. Seems you already figured that out.

EDIT2: You could use "Octane Camera Mapping" and set the texture to be projected from a fixed camera to simulate world coordinates.

pekka varis
04-17-2018, 03:40 AM
I got it working with octane camera mapping! Thank you Squarewulf!!

Here is a video:
http://www.catchline.fi/toveri/working-clip-solution.webm

I had to raise the "V scale" value in both Octane UV map and in Octane texture image nodes to hide the object for a good amount of space in Y.


Pekka

tyrot
04-17-2018, 09:34 AM
great work .. you are a quick learner! kudos!

pekka varis
04-22-2018, 07:24 AM
Itīs getting better!

141392