PDA

View Full Version : How to Boolean Unify 2 flat polygons?



B_Free
03-29-2018, 12:56 PM
I have 2 overlapping polygons, each in a different layer. All I want to do is quickly combine them into 1 polygon.
140930
Boolean > Union doesn't combine the polys, it just copies and pastes both polys to the same layer.

Speed Boolean > Union makes everything in the selected layer disappear.

I want to join them the same way Pathfinder > Merge works in Illustrator. Any ideas or do I have to go to all the work of extruding the polys and then deleting all the extra polys that creates?

UnCommonGrafx
03-29-2018, 01:21 PM
Won't work as they are not 3d volumes. Boolean wants a volume.
Drill will work for this case, tunnel in particular.

Robert

ccclarke
03-29-2018, 02:36 PM
You can also stencil the round (extruded) shape into a 2D poly using Construct<Combine<Solid Drill<Stencil

CCC

MonroePoteet
03-29-2018, 04:15 PM
You could try this:


Construct=>Drill=>Stencil in the Y axis with the disc in the background
Swap layers and use Drill=>Tunnel to cut a hole in the disc with the box
Combine them into a single layer
Merge Points
Delete the interior edges
Select the two polygons and use Detail=>Merge Polys
Delete any single remaining points


Here's a video: 140935

If you get the abominable and heinous error "Unable to Regenerate Profile", nudge the center points created on the box by the Stencil by 1um (1 micrometer) in X and try again:

140937

mTp

erikals
03-30-2018, 07:28 AM
Unigon plugin
https://www.youtube.com/user/erikalst/search?query=Unigon

prometheus
03-30-2018, 09:14 AM
Unigon plugin
https://www.youtube.com/user/erikalst/search?query=Unigon

Unigon is nice and what you would want, but it doesnīt work properly in y-axis (top view)
so make sure you work in front view by rotating the model or create it in front view, then use z-axis and add.

Now..the unigon plugin is lscript and works in both lw 2015 32 bit, and is tested on 2018 64 bit and works there too, a problem is that pictrix site is down, and I am not sure if anyone posted the plugin directly here on the forums?
otherwise it is on my harddrive ..not sure about the rules of distributing it though.

erikals
03-30-2018, 09:52 AM
yep, like shown in the video it can be a bit tricky on the Y axis
the direct link seems to work by the way, http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/Unigon/index.html

it is one of the many features i hope to see updated among others >
http://forums.newtek.com/archive/index.php/t-139159

prometheus
03-30-2018, 01:13 PM
yep, like shown in the video it can be a bit tricky on the Y axis
the direct link seems to work by the way, http://www.pictrix.jp/lw/Unigon/index.html

it is one of the many features i hope to see updated among others >
http://forums.newtek.com/archive/index.php/t-139159

Yep..some modeling attention.
Despite the nice price upgrade, I will skip upgrade now tomorrow, I need to see where it all goes in terms of modeling enhancement..in either modeler or layout, as well I need to see what else is happening with the workflow ..since I think they strayed away from a philosophy of making lightwave easy to use and set up.

That doesnīt mean I will skip it all together, I love Lightwave in many areas..and will continue and use it, itīs just that this release isnīt what I excpected..so I just hope it evolves around implementing modeling a bit better and with Careful considerations on maintaining good workflow.

I suspect I will wait one or two years and see what version there is out there then, and in such case the special offer will all have accumulated to the similar new price I reckon, so it doesnīt matter if I buy in to it without having upgraded all the versions inbetween.

erikals
03-30-2018, 02:31 PM
my biggest worry about LW2018 is that there are no point/edge/poly options in the new LightWave SDK

this means there are no way for 3rd party developers to make related modeling tools for Layout

will NT add the function to the SDK any time soon?
perhaps not, as they are focusing on the Modeler code

LW2018 wasn't quite what we hoped for. at least the Layout poly handling is better though...
Octane 4 also looks great, so looking positively forward to that.

and good to see 3rd party helping out... https://i.imgur.com/eqihfxy.gif
3rdPowers, Advanced Placement, DPont, LWCAD, ODToolSet, RHiggit, Syflex, TAFA, Turbulence, UP/DeepRising

gerry_g
03-30-2018, 03:12 PM
'and good to see 3rd party helping out..'

Advanced Placement is not 2018 compatible AFIK, unless you can tell me different

prometheus
03-30-2018, 06:45 PM
'and good to see 3rd party helping out..'

Advanced Placement is not 2018 compatible AFIK, unless you can tell me different

I think Steve said itīs on the works, and I think the major change requires a bit of patience for third party stuff to catch up, if those developers still do find it worthwile.
I miss the whole set of nodes from dpont, especially the nodal texturing..using the layer nodes and acessing the textures from there isnīt the same.