PDA

View Full Version : NC1 IO Windows Update Crashing Problems



MaxMattingly
03-27-2018, 09:42 AM
Hi there, lately Newtek Connect on our NC1IO unit has been crashing to desktop every time we select a different input or output in the software with the little gear icon, among other similar issues. Here's the thing about the crash, though - it doesn't ACTUALLY crash, just disappears from view and I have to end task in Task Manager to be able to reopen it. It's pretty consistently reproducible, and also makes working with the unit a nightmare. I think it happened after installing a Windows update (that we were forced to install). Anybody else seeing this? Any ideas on how we can fix it?

Thanks.

lukerctv
03-27-2018, 11:22 AM
Same thing has been happening here. Customer Service shipped me a new unit and asked me to RMA the old one. I suspect a hardware issue with the first revisions?

Still waiting for the replacement unit to arrive, I'll report back if the issue is gone.

kanep
03-27-2018, 01:51 PM
My understanding is that a recent Windows Update has updated the Intel GPU drivers which can cause problems. Until the next software update that will resolve this, you can manually download the older Intel GPU driver and install it.

https://downloadcenter.intel.com/download/27412/Intel-Graphics-Driver-for-Windows-15-60-

lukerctv
03-28-2018, 01:48 PM
I caught that little tidbit of info in another thread, and tried installing that older driver. Seemed to install fine, but the problem didn't go away.

Should I be doing anything to my replacement unit to make sure the same thing doesn't happen?

kanep
03-28-2018, 05:04 PM
Should I be doing anything to my replacement unit to make sure the same thing doesn't happen?

Yes, you can use the following settings to lock down Windows 10 Updates even more than the defaults.
https://support.newtek.com/hc/en-us/articles/115003841174-Scheduling-Windows-10-updates

lukerctv
03-29-2018, 11:52 AM
Yes, you can use the following settings to lock down Windows 10 Updates even more than the defaults.
https://support.newtek.com/hc/en-us/articles/115003841174-Scheduling-Windows-10-updates

That article says I should be enabling automatic updates, but the problem described in this thread seems to indicate that's what the issue is.

What do I do with this new NCIO unit before I connect it to the internet?

kanep
03-29-2018, 12:08 PM
Your not enabling automatic updates on Windows 10 with this option, because they are enabled already. What you are enabling is more control over the updates.

On my systems I have selected option '2' from the 'Configure automatic updating' drop down (I believe the default is selection 4). This will 'Notify for download and notify for install'. Now I get the option to prevent anything from downloading or installing right at the start. If I get a pop up window telling me that updates are available, just press 'ESC' to clear it and nothing happens.

mfassett
04-24-2018, 03:40 PM
Same thing has been happening here. Customer Service shipped me a new unit and asked me to RMA the old one. I suspect a hardware issue with the first revisions?

Still waiting for the replacement unit to arrive, I'll report back if the issue is gone.

Ugh! I'm having the same trouble, my NC1 is a paperweight right now. Installing the older graphic drivers made the crashing happen less, but also made my newtek PTZ camera no longer work with the NC1.

Stuck!!!!

lukerctv
04-24-2018, 10:53 PM
Try this:

http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?156452-NC1IN-NC1I-O-MediaDS-VS4000-GPU-driver-update&p=1544369&viewfull=1#post1544369

I wish the forum wasn't so needlessly fragmented!

kelbyadmin
03-18-2019, 08:20 AM
I've recently run into this issue as well. After recent Windows updates our feeds connected to Inputs 1-4 would show a black screen. I ended up uninstalling Windows updates and that resolved the issue. At some point, those updates will want to run again. I'll take a look at kanep's suggestion to gain more control over the updates. Thanks for the suggestion.