PDA

View Full Version : Is it worth learning 2d animation ?

rednova
03-21-2018, 07:24 PM
Hi:

I have been learning lightwave/3d for a few years.
I always had the dream of making a movie in the kind of japanese animation.
All I need is that the animation looks like anime, nothing more.
I just realized, that instead of learning a 2d package, and spending years learning 2d,
all I have to do is apply the cel shade filter in lightwave, and then voila,
instant anime looks.
All I need is that it looks like anime, and the cel shader does exactly that.
But I am up for a challenge, and would love to spend a few years learning
2d animation, just for fun and to learn a new skill.
I would love to master 2d animation and to make anime.
Any thoughts about this ?

roboman
03-21-2018, 09:15 PM
From what I understand most of the anime is now done in 3d with cell shading. On the other hand I first started doing animation by drawing pictures in the corners of books, also have a laptop setup with monkeyjam right now and am using it to do some brick movies with my girlfriend. It's all flavors of the same thing. A digital camera is a much better deal then a 8 or 16mm camera, so it's much more fun to learn now then it use to be.... You can even use your cell phone. It's basically free to give it a try and decide if you want to go any further.

Rayek
03-22-2018, 04:23 PM
I have been teaching myself 2d animation in the past two years, and improving my (cartoon/animation) drawing skills. It's a blast, and has had a positive impact on ALL my work. It's easier to communicate my ideas visually as well.

It's fun, and most importantly, it gets me doing something completely different which is good for my overall well-being.