PDA

View Full Version : Grit Node for LightWave 2015 PC



GimbalLock
03-15-2018, 07:59 AM
Hi forum,

I've found various dated posts mentioning the old Grit Node for applying dirt to objects, but have been unable to find an active link for the plugin except a Mac version. I'm looking for a PC 64 bit version that hopefully works with LW 2015. Does anyone have one?

What I wanna be able to do is quickly add weathered realism to small bits and pieces around my models without having to UV map everything and drag it through 3d Coat.
I've tried using dp curvature along with gradients and procedurals, but the results are only so-so and from what I'm reading Grit Node is simpler and faster.

Cheers

ianr
03-15-2018, 10:21 AM
Seems like you should ask Antii (Dev Node Coder & Very Clever) for this on his wish list for LW 2019

GimbalLock
03-15-2018, 12:56 PM
Cheers. I was hoping someone had the existing old Grit Node and that it works in 2015, because I need something like it for current projects.

As for the future, I think this and a rounded edge shader (for microbevels) are absoute must have in modern cgi, and coming back to LW after a very long break I was kinda surprised there really isn't stuff like this built straight into LW. Anything that affects outer and inner edges, in general. Especially considering how LW has full cartoon edge support.

Snosrap
03-17-2018, 08:50 AM
DP nodes has a curvature node that works real good. Use with caution and not on every surface in your scene. It can really bog down your box.

- - - Updated - - -


Seems like you should ask Antii (Dev Node Coder & Very Clever) for this on his wish list for LW 2019

Matt said on FB that Antti had one running in 2018.

MonroePoteet
03-17-2018, 10:13 AM
The ee_gritnode.zip referenced on this page:

http://www.foundation3d.com/forums/showthread.php?t=21288

loads into my 64-bit LW2015.0.3, if it's what you're looking for. Here's a test rendering using it with a Crumple scalar layer input.

140712

140711

You also might try the native Occlusion I or Occlusion II (Ambient Occlusion) nodes. Same object, with Occlusion I into Diffuse instead:

140713

mTp

GimbalLock
03-19-2018, 03:18 AM
Thank you so much. I'm getting a "Plugins were not found or could not be added" error, though. It's LW 2015.3
Any ideas what might cause this?

GimbalLock
03-19-2018, 05:20 AM
In my eagerness I didn't scroll down far enough in the link to find the x64 version. Now I did and it works wonderfully - thank you! It's really fast and even works with intersections :)

MonroePoteet
03-19-2018, 08:24 AM
Yes, it's quick and easy, and produces nice results using procedurals as inputs. Glad you found the 64-bit version.

mTp