PDA

View Full Version : How to evenly space nulls across a spline control



gra
02-23-2018, 10:24 AM
is there a way to have a series of nulls evenly spaced across a spline control in layout? i'm trying have a series of bones that each target their own null that are easily transformed en mass through a spline control. i hope that makes sense?

my thinking was if there's a way to get the total length of the spline control, the z position of a null could be offset proportional to the length of the spline. i might be asking too much of lightwave though.

any thoughts would be appreciated. thanks!

Sensei
02-23-2018, 01:08 PM
Workarounds:

I made plugin Align Items for Layout, and it's part of TrueArt's Modeling Pack (http://modelingpack.trueart.eu), here you can see how it works:

Select couple items in the right order, and press one of Align Items commands, and they will have evenly spaced positions/rotations/scales. From 1st item to the last item as references.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7MCLYvDlNS0


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7MCLYvDlNS0


If you have (or can convert Spline Control (export path?) to) spline in Modeler,
EasySpline http://easyspline.trueart.eu has special tool Spline Density,
which allows to quantize input spline to user defined evenly spaced control points:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wfgTdxWSCCk

After quantize of spline, you would have to import it in Layout, and use control points as source of position of null item.

Ztreem
02-23-2018, 02:23 PM
There is an align and distibute command in layout, it distributes all objects between the first and last object position.

Ztreem
02-23-2018, 04:01 PM
You can also do the old parent hierarchy setup. When you move all objects at the same time they automatically offset each other with a even distance.
140288

gar26lw
02-23-2018, 10:29 PM
cool

daforum
02-24-2018, 12:16 AM
You can also do the old parent hierarchy setup. When you move all objects at the same time they automatically offset each other with a even distance.
140288

Is there a way to do that without a spline?

Skywatcher_NT
02-24-2018, 01:41 AM
Just parent the nulls ( e.g. 2 to 1, 3 to 2, 4 to 3 etc ... ) then multiselect all except 1st and move them.

daforum
02-24-2018, 07:49 AM
Thank you Skywatcher_NT.
I'll give it a go later!

gra
03-08-2018, 02:53 PM
sorry for letting this hang, but what i ended up doing was using "DPSpline Deformer" in each null's Nodal Motion modifier and plugging a scalar value into it's "Covered Percent" input.