PDA

View Full Version : Plug-in ExportFBX failed to start.



snsmoore
02-12-2018, 09:47 PM
Is anyone experiencing any problems with the FBX export functionality in Layout? (Lightwave 2018.0.1 Win 64)

When I use the Save->Export->ExportFBX with varying options I got an error dialog box with, "Plug-in ExportFBX failed to start."

Here are my steps(I've simplified this):

1) Create a cube in Modeller
2) Create a uvmap (I just used an atlas type uv unwrap)
3) Save
4) Send to Layout
5) Use the Save->Export->ExportFBX option
6) Check the following:
Models
Morphs
Materials
Embedded Textures
Type: Binary
FBX Version: I've 2010 and 2016.
(everything else unchecked)

Any ideas?

Thanks!

lardbros
02-13-2018, 03:43 AM
Not sure if your problem is similar to mine?

My LightWave modeller 2015 stopped writing FBX files completely, and has been like that for YEARS!

I found a registry entry for Valkyrie, which controls all of LightWave's exporting options... deleted all the registry keys inside there, and now FBX works perfectly.
I'm soooo pleased. Something must have got corrupt somehow, but now it's all good!

The registry key can be found under:
HKEY_CURRENT _USER/Software/NewTek/Valkyrie/

If you're not confident messing with the registry, probably best to leave it alone.

snsmoore
02-13-2018, 09:50 PM
I tried deleting the Valkyrie keys, but no go. It did work a few times after installation, but then wouldn't export anything. :(

lardbros
02-14-2018, 12:50 AM
Oh wow... That's weird.
So, what's your issue. It won't expire fbx from Layout or Modeller 2015?

Do you have 2018 and does that work?

aperezg
02-14-2018, 04:59 AM
I have the same problem.

When I installed LW 2018.0, LW 2015.3 stopped exporting FBX files. LW2018 can expor FBX File
I have another computer with a second licence, It don't have installed LW 2018, and LW 2015.3 export FBX file.

lardbros
02-14-2018, 05:47 AM
I think 2018 overwrites the 2015 reg keys with info that causes 2015 not to understand what to do.

Did you delete the registry keys and then try 2015 without opening 2018?

raymondtrace
02-14-2018, 07:29 AM
Those 6 steps work for me on both 2015.3 and 2018.0.1.

Other things to consider...

Reload/refresh all plugins.
Make sure only one version of LW is running at a time as there could be hiccups with Hub.

aperezg
02-14-2018, 07:58 AM
I think 2018 overwrites the 2015 reg keys with info that causes 2015 not to understand what to do.

Did you delete the registry keys and then try 2015 without opening 2018?

I didn't do that, Because I don't know where the file is. I'm working on mac OS.
I reinstall LW 2015.3, and it start again export FBX File. But When I export an FBX file in LW 2018.01, LW 2015.3, stopped working export FBX file

Ron Schatz
02-15-2018, 10:08 AM
Spent 2 days on this, 2018 writes to the reg somewhere,
If you export above FBX201400, in LWM 2018 it notes that, so when you export out of LWM 2015 it tries to write the file but can't because it doesn't know how to.
2015 reads the Valkyrie settings but not write to them(on my LWM 2015, is was only set to FBX201100)
To fix so far, In LWM 2018 export an older setting that LWM 2015 does have, then close it, you can now LWM2015 to export FBX
3 of my computers could export FBX till I notice 18 was the new kid and that it's setting were remembered in the export window, something 15 didn't do.
Uninstalling LW 15 or 18 does not fix this without a reg cleaning, I needed to reinstall 18 just change the Valkyrie setting.
All computers are Windows 10pro64
I just need to remember to export a lower FBX setting in LWM2018 before closing it.

Now SUFACES, bricks, siding, roofs, walks.... dang this is getting harder than should, node the new 4 letter:)

aperezg
02-15-2018, 11:11 AM
Spent 2 days on this, 2018 writes to the reg somewhere,
If you export above FBX201400, in LWM 2018 it notes that, so when you export out of LWM 2015 it tries to write the file but can't because it doesn't know how to.
2015 reads the Valkyrie settings but not write to them(on my LWM 2015, is was only set to FBX201100)
To fix so far, In LWM 2018 export an older setting that LWM 2015 does have, then close it, you can now LWM2015 to export FBX
3 of my computers could export FBX till I notice 18 was the new kid and that it's setting were remembered in the export window, something 15 didn't do.
Uninstalling LW 15 or 18 does not fix this without a reg cleaning, I needed to reinstall 18 just change the Valkyrie setting.
All computers are Windows 10pro64
I just need to remember to export a lower FBX setting in LWM2018 before closing it.

Now SUFACES, bricks, siding, roofs, walks.... dang this is getting harder than should, node the new 4 letter:)

Thanks this is the right way

snsmoore
02-15-2018, 09:00 PM
Oh wow... That's weird.
So, what's your issue. It won't expire fbx from Layout or Modeller 2015?

Do you have 2018 and does that work?

I've got LW2018.0.1. Modeller will export fine, but Layout will not. I've tried clearing the Valkyrie keys and even exporting using a lower FBX version on the Export FBX dialog box, but that doesn't work.

Any other ideas? From some of the other posts it doesn't sound like a reinstall is going to help.

-Shawn

snsmoore
02-19-2018, 08:35 PM
I've got LW2018.0.1. Modeller will export fine, but Layout will not. I've tried clearing the Valkyrie keys and even exporting using a lower FBX version on the Export FBX dialog box, but that doesn't work.

Any other ideas? From some of the other posts it doesn't sound like a reinstall is going to help.

-Shawn

Wow, full uninstall of both 2015 and 2018 and clearing of Valkyrie keys did NOT solve the problem.

Argh!

Any other ideas?

gar26lw
02-20-2018, 03:37 AM
i’ve just hit this wall today too. will nt do a patch for 2015.3? updated valkyrie plugin perhaps?

raymondtrace
02-20-2018, 08:42 AM
Wow, full uninstall of both 2015 and 2018 and clearing of Valkyrie keys did NOT solve the problem.

Argh!

Any other ideas?

You should not need to clear registry keys. The fact that you are replying to that concept suggests you have not yet tried the important info in Ron Schatz's post #9.


...To fix so far, In LWM 2018 export an older setting that LWM 2015 does have, then close it, you can now LWM2015 to export FBX...I just need to remember to export a lower FBX setting in LWM2018 before closing it...

snsmoore
02-20-2018, 09:46 PM
Problem solved. I think it's a bug in Lightwave. If you try to export an fbx in Layout to another drive (my physical F: drive) it will fail. If I change to export to a destination of c:\temp it is fine.

Hope that helps others.

gar26lw
02-21-2018, 03:19 AM
this was never an issue before 2018 so is this more a 2018 bug, right?

raymondtrace
02-21-2018, 06:47 AM
Problem solved. I think it's a bug in Lightwave. If you try to export an fbx in Layout to another drive (my physical F: drive) it will fail. If I change to export to a destination of c:\temp it is fine.

Hope that helps others.

This might apply to your situation but there is no problem for me to save to a non-system drive. Is there something unique about your F drive (format, or odd character in filepath)?


this was never an issue before 2018 so is this more a 2018 bug, right?

How would LW2015 know how to export a 2016 FBX? Can LW11 read LWO from 2018? This isn't a bug as much as a progressive move into the 2016 FBX format.

As it is highly unlikely an update to LW2015 would be offered, there are two ways this "bug" could be resolved by only modifying LW2018:
1) disable LW2018's ability to export to the FBX2016 format.
2) have LW2018's Valkyrie plugin write to different registry keys so the ones written by 2015 do not conflict.

gar26lw
02-21-2018, 01:55 PM
number 2

snsmoore
02-22-2018, 01:42 PM
More info folks:

It wasn't just the f: drive. Turns out my path on the f: drive that I'm saving files to is over 75 characters long and is 6 directory levels deep. When I save to f:\temp it is fine, but when saving to the longer path, it fails.

I've only been trying to export fbx files on lw2018, so I can't say if this was a problem before.

gar26lw
02-22-2018, 04:56 PM
More info folks:

It wasn't just the f: drive. Turns out my path on the f: drive that I'm saving files to is over 75 characters long and is 6 directory levels deep. When I save to f:\temp it is fine, but when saving to the longer path, it fails.

I've only been trying to export fbx files on lw2018, so I can't say if this was a problem before.

hmm, are there spaces or unusual characters in the path ? I am wondering if this relates to the issue I am getting.

snsmoore
02-22-2018, 07:14 PM
hmm, are there spaces or unusual characters in the path ? I am wondering if this relates to the issue I am getting.

No spaces. Try saving to c:\temp and see if it works.

snsmoore
02-22-2018, 09:21 PM
More testing, but I think I've finally narrowed it down:


It looks like if you put the lws and lwo object in a directory and then load the scene and change your content to that directory the problem will occur. When you export to fbx, it is adding "Scenes" to the end of the path, even though that directory doesn't exist.

i.e. my object and scene are in F:\temp\dir1

When I export to fbx, Layout creates an FBX Filename of : F:\temp\dir1\Scenes\myobject.fbx

So it tacks on the Scenes directory, even though it doesn't exist. That causes the problem. I thought it was a long path, but I was wrong. However, with a long path, you don't see the addition of the "Scenes" sub-directory, which creates the problem.

gar26lw
02-23-2018, 05:54 AM
More testing, but I think I've finally narrowed it down:


It looks like if you put the lws and lwo object in a directory and then load the scene and change your content to that directory the problem will occur. When you export to fbx, it is adding "Scenes" to the end of the path, even though that directory doesn't exist.

i.e. my object and scene are in F:\temp\dir1

When I export to fbx, Layout creates an FBX Filename of : F:\temp\dir1\Scenes\myobject.fbx

So it tacks on the Scenes directory, even though it doesn't exist. That causes the problem. I thought it was a long path, but I was wrong. However, with a long path, you don't see the addition of the "Scenes" sub-directory, which creates the problem.

i’m not sure this is the whole story as i only export fbx via modeller and it stopped working. think it’s the reg thing in that case.