PDA

View Full Version : LW2018 Edge Rendering



gridman144
02-12-2018, 08:36 AM
I'm new, just got LW 2018 and am using it to create some scientific models. One of the easy ones is to overlay a grid on the Earth. I created an Earth that was .97m radius, then another sphere that was 1.0m. I added them both to Layout at the same location such that the grid overlay completely covered the Earth sphere. I then clicked the Grid sphere object, selected Properties, Edges tab and did what you see in the screenshot. I then put transparency to 100% on the grid overlay surface. I thought this would give me the effect I wanted, which was to just show the grid sphere edges, thus creating an overlay. For clarity purposes, I have not added the Earth texture to the Earth sphere yet.

The problem is that the grid overlay should wrap around the Earth sphere, but it shows the hidden edges that should be on the other side. How do I fix this?

Thanks.

Rod

ernpchan
02-12-2018, 08:56 AM
Why not render your Earth model with the lines on itself? Why use this second object?

02-12-2018, 08:57 AM
Answering your question may look smart aleck but it's not: turn transparency to zero.
That's the best answer if you don't want to see through the sphere.

Other than that, putting your earth texture on, and zero for transparency, ought to put it where you want.
Robert

Sensei
02-12-2018, 08:58 AM
General note.
Attach complete scene with objects.
It'll be easier to download and tweak to help you..

gridman144
02-12-2018, 09:03 AM
Thanks for the replies. I understand what you said. However, the grid overlay in this model does not line up with the edges of the Earth sphere primitive, or rather the normal latitude/longitude lines of the Earth. The grid overlay is offset at the poles. I wanted to get this working first, then rotate the grid overlay to the proper position over the Earth.

Perhaps edge rendering isn't the way to go.

gridman144
02-12-2018, 09:10 AM
I have attached the completed scene with objects.

Thanks.

Sensei
02-12-2018, 09:57 AM
You're using Principled BSDF
But it's not working nicely when there is Smoothing turned off.
So, turn on Smoothing and switch Grid Line sphere to Standard material.
Also (after enabling Smoothing) consider using Other Edges instead of Sharp Edges.

How about different approach: load sphere to Modeler, select edges, Copy, delete geometry, Paste (or paste to 2nd layer). You will have 2 point polygons network instead.

gridman144
02-12-2018, 10:17 AM
Okay. Thank you very much. I'll use your suggestions.

gridman144
02-12-2018, 10:48 AM
The 2 point polygon network worked great. That was what I wanted to do in the beginning, but I didn't know the correct terminology.

Thanks, Sensei.