PDA

View Full Version : Precision rotation in Modeler (interactive rotate fraction of degree)



gra
02-02-2018, 08:14 AM
i have done some searching, but haven't found any answers.

i'm trying to orient lots of objects quickly by hand. i have been using the rotation tool in "AC: Mouse" mode, but when used in the viewport the tool only changes in increments of +/-1 degree and many times i need to only move a fraction of that. i am aware you can pull up the numeric panel to manually enter values, but when you have to do it 100+ times it really wrecks the work flow. is there some sort of modifier key like many other software packages offer to trigger a precision rotation mode?

thanks!

ernpchan
02-02-2018, 08:49 AM
Unfortunately there isn't they level of precision of rotation in Modeler.

You could write a script to do that or if all your pieces are separate layers you could do your rotation in Layout and then save transform that out.

gra
02-02-2018, 09:25 AM
thanks ernpchan for that answer.

:/ that makes me sad. i'm trying to do edit morph targets for feathers on a bird, so i don't think doing it in layout would be a good option.

fishhead
02-02-2018, 12:08 PM
Hi gra, I have no idea if they still work. But you could try:
www.interialabs.de/lw/lscript/index.html
Scroll down until you find: Batch Edit 2 (MD)

its rather old (2005) but maybe you are lucky...

edit: oh, I probably did not read correctly, you are looking more for a macro solution, so maybe this one is not for you anyway... :-\

4dartist
02-02-2018, 01:37 PM
Setting rotation amount minimum and sensitivity would be fantastic to have as an option. I'd prefer to have rotations down to .1° and weaken the sensitivity. I find myself moving my mouse the distance of a hair to get 1°, and I'm always passing it back and forth trying to land on the ° I want.

I like the hotkey idea for precision mode on rotation.

As far as I know nothing of the sort exists.

Ztreem
02-02-2018, 01:52 PM
Does the weightmap trick work? You set the falloff to weight map and make the whole object have a low weight value like 1-10% and then rotate the object.

4dartist
02-02-2018, 01:57 PM
Does the weightmap trick work? You set the falloff to weight map and make the whole object have a low weight value like 1-10% and then rotate the object.

I've never done that before, that's pretty neat. It's a little odd because the rotations on the bottom left read what your original amount is even though the actual applied rotation is whatever % you set the weight map to. So rotating something to an exact degree would be tricky, but if you are just looking to line things up this would work perfectly.

Thanks for the tip.

Ztreem
02-02-2018, 02:19 PM
I've never done that before, that's pretty neat. It's a little odd because the rotations on the bottom left read what your original amount is even though the actual applied rotation is whatever % you set the weight map to. So rotating something to an exact degree would be tricky, but if you are just looking to line things up this would work perfectly.

Thanks for the tip.

If you rotate 1 degree with a 10% weightmap you have rotated 0.1 degree, so you can do exact rotations.

MonroePoteet
02-02-2018, 04:40 PM
That's a great trick for precision moving / rotation / scaling, etc.. To make it easier, I wrote a couple of LScripts: ScaleDownCommandWeight and ScaleUpCommandWeight.

These both manage a Weight Map called FractionalCommandWeight, creating and populating it if necessary. ScaleDownCommandWeight will scale down the weightmap values by 0.1 with a Minimum of 0.001, while ScaleUpCommandWeights will scale the weightmap values up by 10.0 with a Maximum of 1.0.

Both of them display the new fractional weight in the yellow-bar notification area below. They will select the FractionalCommandWeight as the current Weight map. There doesn't appear to be a programmatic way of making the Falloff be "Weight Map" for tools that support this, so the user will have to do that manually in the Numeric panel for the tool. Once you've selected it for one tool, it appears to be applied to the others.

If you move these scripts to a folder, you can use Utilities=>Add Plugins to add each of them as a plugin. They can then be assigned to a Shortcut key. I used CTRL-down for ScaleDownCommandWeight and CTRL-up for ScaleUpCommandWeight.

I'll definitely use this in the future. Nice!

mTp

4dartist
02-02-2018, 04:48 PM
ScaleDownCommandWeight and ScaleUpCommandWeight

Very cool, I tried them out. The first try it crashed modeler, but I've been rendering in the linked layout and working in it for a while. After starting it back up and giving it a shot, it works awesome. Thanks for writing this. This'll definitely be something I use instead of nudging over and over with the numeric panel.

MonroePoteet
02-02-2018, 05:55 PM
A quick caveat on these LScripts: I didn't make them so they'll recognize if you add points to the mesh. If you add points to the mesh after you've invoked them the first time (like Subdivide or Add Points, etc.), you'll need to use Map=>Edit Maps=>Delete Vertex Map to delete the FractionalCommandWeight weight map. It will then be re-created when you invoke one of the LScripts again all points will be set to 1.0 (100%).

Alternatively, you can use Map=>Set Map Value to set all points to 100% in the FractionalCommandWeight map.

mTp

MonroePoteet
02-02-2018, 06:21 PM
Here are modified versions of the Scripts which will allow adding points to the mesh, subdividing, deleting the mesh without deleting the weight map, etc.

I think I'll find them very useful. And, remember, you can hold CTRL while rotating to force increments of 15 degrees (or with the scripts, 1.5 degrees, .15 degrees, or .015 degrees!).

mTp

MSherak
02-03-2018, 11:38 AM
i have done some searching, but haven't found any answers.

i'm trying to orient lots of objects quickly by hand. i have been using the rotation tool in "AC: Mouse" mode, but when used in the viewport the tool only changes in increments of +/-1 degree and many times i need to only move a fraction of that. i am aware you can pull up the numeric panel to manually enter values, but when you have to do it 100+ times it really wrecks the work flow. is there some sort of modifier key like many other software packages offer to trigger a precision rotation mode?

thanks!

Use the Transform Gadget and bring up the numberic panel. The sliders move .1 increments.


http://3dxyz.pro/transform-gizmo/ if you want the gizmo in my capture with instructions on how to place it in.

Kennedy
02-13-2018, 02:37 PM
Have you tried RMB drag instead of LMB drag when manually rotating? Accidentally discovered manually scaling while dragging with the RMB resizes in 10ths of a percent, whereas using the LMB resizes in intergers, per previous versions. Not sure if this is a new feature, or just took 15 years to find it. Wondering if it might work the same way with rotation and some other operations...

gar26lw
02-13-2018, 03:14 PM
Have you tried RMB drag instead of LMB drag when manually rotating? Accidentally discovered manually scaling while dragging with the RMB resizes in 10ths of a percent, whereas using the LMB resizes in intergers, per previous versions. Not sure if this is a new feature, or just took 15 years to find it. Wondering if it might work the same way with rotation and some other operations...

what an excellent find!

i hope custom gizmos can be added in layout. wonder if there’s a way?

gerry_g
02-13-2018, 05:13 PM
this won't make too much sense because I'm on a Mac and using a tablet with custom pen settings but still there must be some mouse equivalent to this, I get decimal fractional values as above if I hold down 'CMD' and drag laterally but if I hold down 'CTRL' I get 5° increments of movement instead of the usual one

Kennedy
02-13-2018, 06:22 PM
Just testing... RMB drag results in .xxº (pretty precise) rotational increments; CMD + LMB drag returns 15º increments (several other key combinations also do this, for non-Mac users); LMB drag is standard 1º increments. Can't figure out for the life of me how to get 5º increments, though. A lot of the key combinations are permanently mapped to navigation, as in the past.

MonroePoteet
02-13-2018, 06:44 PM
Have you tried RMB drag instead of LMB drag when manually rotating? Accidentally discovered manually scaling while dragging with the RMB resizes in 10ths of a percent, whereas using the LMB resizes in intergers, per previous versions. Not sure if this is a new feature, or just took 15 years to find it. Wondering if it might work the same way with rotation and some other operations...

What version are you running? From what I can tell, RMB drag for rotation in Modeler does exactly the same as LMB drag in LW 2015.3.

mTp

Kennedy
02-13-2018, 06:49 PM
What version are you running? From what I can tell, RMB drag for rotation in Modeler does exactly the same as LMB drag in LW 2015.3.

mTp

2018.01. This is my first upgrade since 11.6.3, so I can't compare with 2015.

MonroePoteet
02-13-2018, 08:32 PM
2018.01. This is my first upgrade since 11.6.3, so I can't compare with 2015.

OK, thanks! Definitely a new feature, IMO. *Gotta* find the time to upgrade (bought it, downloaded it, now to install and play!).

mTp

MonroePoteet
02-20-2018, 03:50 PM
Confirmed that a "high precision" Rotate in Modeler using right-drag is a new feature in LW2018.0.1. Nice!

mTp