PDA

View Full Version : What are you using for LiveText outside a TriCaster as a standalone machine?



dpavid
01-30-2018, 02:58 AM
We need separate machine to run LiveText. The minimal requirements are much. I assume the chepaest laptop at Costco would be sufficient.

Anyone using anything else such as an Intel NUC?

Bare minimal requirements or do you notice better performance when more resources are added?

Something like this sufficient?
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1365271-REG/intel_boxnuc7i3bnhxf_nuc_7th_gen_intel.html

PIZAZZ
02-01-2018, 09:17 AM
We need separate machine to run LiveText. The minimal requirements are much. I assume the chepaest laptop at Costco would be sufficient.

Anyone using anything else such as an Intel NUC?

Bare minimal requirements or do you notice better performance when more resources are added?

Something like this sufficient?
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1365271-REG/intel_boxnuc7i3bnhxf_nuc_7th_gen_intel.html

Great little boxes. Plenty of power to run LiveText. Only thing with those boxes is of course you need to tote a monitor around now too. If you want something compact then I suggest a Microsoft Surface Pro tablet. Great machines especially the later versions. Compact and Effective.

dpavid
02-05-2018, 10:59 PM
Great little boxes. Plenty of power to run LiveText. Only thing with those boxes is of course you need to tote a monitor around now too. If you want something compact then I suggest a Microsoft Surface Pro tablet. Great machines especially the later versions. Compact and Effective.

In a live production Jef, what Surface do you recommend? I always prefer a keyboard and mouse and larger monitor but the compact size is nice. Only need it for LiveText.

dpavid
02-09-2018, 02:19 AM
Just ended up getting a http://www.dell.com/en-us/shop/dell-desktop-computers/alienware-alpha/spd/alienware-alpha. Upgraded RAM to 8GB and added Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD. More than sufficient to run LiveText.