PDA

View Full Version : NDI Transmit Question



Stream
01-24-2018, 08:44 AM
Just found out about NDI Transmit.
Using it would take 2 or 3 points of possible failure out of some of my shows.
I just tried the Demo, worked well, but when I test it in Skype you don't see
the full window, no matter what I change the NDI Transmit Video setting to
or even if I change the Tricaster output to 480i (4:3) and the NDI Transmit
video to 480p or use show interlaced video.

Am I missing something?

Thanks

kanep
01-24-2018, 09:23 AM
Just found out about NDI Transmit.
Using it would take 2 or 3 points of possible failure out of some of my shows.
I just tried the Demo, worked well, but when I test it in Skype you don't see
the full window, no matter what I change the NDI Transmit Video setting to
or even if I change the Tricaster output to 480i (4:3) and the NDI Transmit
video to 480p or use show interlaced video.

Am I missing something?

Thanks

Are you talking that in Skype settings that the display window is 4x3 aspect? Even though the settings window show the video this way, NDI Transmit is sending a 16x9 aspect ratio to Skype. However, depending on the resolution of Skype calls, you might get either 16x9 or 4x3 aspect ratio (in fact aspect ratio can change during a call depending on the bandwidth quality). In desktop Skype there is no control over this. In TalkShow with Skype TX you do have the ability force aspect ratios.

Stream
01-24-2018, 09:37 AM
I guess I'll have to check it in an actual Skype call.
When I go into the Skype Options Window, I only see a little portion of the window.
I'm getting ready for shows so I couldn't fully test it. I'd like to see the full 16:9.
I was stoked by it, as now I can get rid of the mix minus, which also adds a bit of
a Godzilla movie feel to our skype to the person on the other end.

Thanks Kane

kanep
01-24-2018, 11:21 AM
Perhaps a screenshot of what you are seeing will help. When I tried it, I saw the center of the 16x9 NDI channel visible in Skype.