PDA

View Full Version : [newbie question] clone object to points



AdamWysokinski
01-14-2018, 09:56 AM
Hi,
I'm new to LW (I use 2018). How can I clone an object to points? E.g. I have a sphere, kill its polygons and then I would like to use its points as placements for another object.
Thanks,
Adam

Nicolas Jordan
01-14-2018, 10:05 AM
I think there is more than one way to do this. Here's one way. Go into Point mode select and copy the points. THen go to a new layer and paste the points.

Sensei
01-14-2018, 10:08 AM
Did you remove polygons already?

Do you want to do it inside of Modeler or Layout?

Because in Layout you can use instancing to have "fake geometry"-instances, instead of the real geometry,
it'll be easier to change it in the future.

In this video tutorial, I am using TrueArt's Modeling Pack (http://modelingpack.trueart.eu)tool Spray Bg Points, and then using them as sources in LW built-in instancer:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P6p-Cm_PFyc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P6p-Cm_PFyc

hypersuperduper
01-14-2018, 10:18 AM
If you want to do it in modeler the built in tool is called “place mesh” it can put a copy of the by mesh on every polygon of the foreground mesh. To make it work on points you can convert the points to 1 point polygons. There are also 3rd party plugins that do similar things.

jeric_synergy
01-14-2018, 10:41 AM
What #2 said, using POINT CLONE.

OFTEN in LWM, advice to a newbie, operations are eased by using other layers. Unlike many modelers, using Background Layers as guides to the tool is very common-- things don't occur in the "current" layer exclusively: in reality there isn't a "current layer" as a concept, there are just Foreground and Background layers.

I use Background layers so much that I'd prefer if all layers were defaulted to "inactive", it would save me time hiding them from Layout. This idea has not gained traction.

BTW, the POPULATE option in PLACE MESH will place a clone, or sequence of clones (read the dox) at the centroid of every selected poly.

AdamWysokinski
01-14-2018, 10:53 AM
It works great, both in the Layout and Modeler. Also the Point Clone (Point CClone Plus in LW 2018) works exactly as I need. I need to better internalize the whole idea of layers, but I really like it so far.
Thank you :)

MarcusM
01-14-2018, 11:27 AM
It works great, both in the Layout and Modeler. Also the Point Clone (Point CClone Plus in LW 2018) works exactly as I need. I need to better internalize the whole idea of layers, but I really like it so far.
Thank you :)

Here you have description:
https://docs.lightwave3d.com/display/LW2018/Duplicate+-+More

Niko3D
01-15-2018, 06:29 AM
You can use instances...is one of the most powerful tools in LW.

If you want to clone the sphere to selected points:
Modeler - just copy the points in a different layers.
Layout - select the points>go to instances generator> choose points. And automatically you have the sphere in all points.

If you want to clone just the to all points, you don't need to do anything...just the same but in Modeler you don't need to do anything.

You need to learn the Instances Generator:


That's all!