PDA

View Full Version : Nurbs surfaces in 2018.0.1 don't work anymore?



Shloime
01-14-2018, 04:55 AM
Hi. Just updated to .0.1 and noticed that nurbs created with LWCAD don't seem to work anymore. In 2018.0 all looked fine and rendered perfectly, and now in 2018.0.1 I just get lines and a few filled polygons. No change done to the object file, just used new version of Layout. Is there any config entry I missed, some checkmark I didn't set?

Skonk
01-14-2018, 07:51 AM
Working fine for me.

Sensei
01-14-2018, 09:24 AM
One thing that users absolutely must remember is the way you install custom polygon handlers plugin class.
such as LWCAD NURBS, EasySpline, Bezier.
After adding plugin, you must quit Modeler, then restart it again, and then you can start adding menus.
Custom polygon handlers are very low level plugin class.

So, if you installed new version of LW, loaded scene, but plugin is missing, and it is asking for plugin to add, showing file requester.. No.. you can't do that with custom polygon handlers.

If you did it above way,
find LWCAD in Edit PlugIns,
remove it entirely.
Quit LW.
Start LW.
Add Plugin.
Quit LW.
Start LW again.
Then start adding menus.

Then you can run tool using custom polygon handler.
If you won't do it appropriate way, very strange abnormalities can happen..

Shloime
01-14-2018, 09:36 AM
OK, now I understood my error: Somewhere on the LWCAD page it says "LW can display nurbs since V 2015". In my head I interpreted this as being a native ability. I didn't realize I had to install LWCAD first to use this feature.
Happens when you take some things for granted.
Apologies to LWGroup, error resides between my ears.

Meshman
01-14-2018, 11:04 AM
Using LW2018.0.1

I already submitted a report to WTools, just seeking confirmation here...

Morphs applied to simple LWCAD nurbs (flat) surfaces are visible only while in Vertices view. When a morph is applied to nurbs surfaces, only the (base) position is displayed or rendered. The scene & morphs I'm testing worked fine in LW2015.3, and newly created nurbs surfaces will reproduce the effect. The Morph Mixer modifier is checked and placed at the bottom of the modifier stack.

Sensei
01-14-2018, 11:12 AM
Using LW2018.0.1

But what with LW 2018.0 Build 3063... ?



I already submitted a report to WTools, just seeking confirmation here...

Morphs applied to simple LWCAD nurbs (flat) surfaces are visible only while in Vertices view. When a morph is applied to nurbs surfaces, only the (base) position is displayed or rendered. The scene & morphs I'm testing worked fine in LW2015.3, and newly created nurbs surfaces will reproduce the effect. The Morph Mixer modifier is checked and placed at the bottom of the modifier stack.

Sub-patches are frozen in Layout 1) when object is loaded to Layout and/or 2) every single frame.
From your description it sounds to me that freeze of sub-patches were done only after loading object to Layout,
instead of freezing them every single frame.

How about such case: set frame to some other than 0/1. Imagine you have 100% morph at 20 frame. Set frame 20.
Save scene. To store current frame in file.
Reload scene.
Is it in base position or at morphed?

Meshman
01-14-2018, 11:37 AM
Thanks Sensei,

LW 2018.0 Build 3036 showed the same issue. I updated to 2018.0.1 with the hope that the issue would be resolved.

Setting up a new scene with a morph applied and saved as you instructed produces the same results. The morph bounding box and vertices move but the surface remains in it's base position.

UnCommonGrafx
01-14-2018, 11:44 AM
morph should be before subdivision?

Sensei
01-14-2018, 11:45 AM
morph should be before subdivision?

Good idea, to check.

LW normally asks custom polygon handler to give mesh at every frame.

But in LW2018, you do it using drag'n'drop modifiers in hierarchy..

Meshman
01-14-2018, 12:03 PM
morph should be before subdivision?

I've tried switching the positions in the modifier stack. And yes, only when the Morph Mixer is placed below Subdivision does the morph's bounding box become visible, and show the animation when scrubbing the timeline. The mesh remains displayed at base position.

Sensei
01-14-2018, 12:07 PM
Normal way of applying morphing is by using Node Editor.
Vertex Maps > Morph Map.. to Displacement input.

Once vertex is modified by Node Editor (and Morph Map node).

It has to be subdivided by custom polygon handler.