PDA

View Full Version : LW 2018.0.1 "Make Preview" inconsistency



Axis3d
01-13-2018, 01:00 PM
Hi, everyone,

I've been looking through some of the new content in LW 2018 and decided to do a simple "Make Preview" on some of the scenes.

In the past, a "Make Preview" rendered and played itself back in the main viewport.

1. I called up a scene from the 2018 content directory (Mecha_Wasp_CycleGL.lws) and did a "Make Preview" in the lower right corner. It popped open its own "Make Preview" window with player controls. Making and playing back a preview worked perfectly.

2. I then called up the Dinosaur_WLK_GL.lws (very cool, BTW) and clicked to "Make Preview" in the lower right corner, and the entire viewport starts to render the preview (as it always has). Unfortunately, the playback is very screwed up. I am on MacOS. Has anyone else experienced two preview methods like this? With one of them not working?

If I could just invoke this "Make Preview" window, that would be fine. I can't figure out why one scene uses this preview window method and others don't.

139409139410

RebelHill
01-13-2018, 01:18 PM
Display options>Undock preview window. Not new to 2018.

Axis3d
01-13-2018, 01:23 PM
Thanks, RebelHill.

Is anyone having an issue making a Docked preview, or can I chalk this up to a MacOs issue?

BeeVee
01-15-2018, 01:39 AM
It is scene dependent, so you can't save it as an option generally, but what issue are you having?

B

Axis3d
01-15-2018, 09:22 AM
It is scene dependent, so you can't save it as an option generally, but what issue are you having?

B

My second screen capture from above shows the problem I'm having. When the preview is made "docked" in the viewport the way it normally defaults, the playback of it is heavily skewed and distorted. The second screen capture from above should show the Godzilla character centered in the frame, but instead the image is distorted and broken up.

vncnt
01-15-2018, 11:48 AM
Did you try another codec? Different codec options?

Preview -> Preview Options

pinkmouse
01-15-2018, 12:17 PM
This is a longstanding issue on Macs. I've reported it at least twice.