PDA

View Full Version : 2018.0.1 is out



rustythe1
01-13-2018, 04:38 AM
just in case any of you missed, 2018.0.1 update has been in the downloads for a day or so, lots of fixes (should speed up renders as it addresses lots of gi issues)

- - - Updated - - -

also any of you with OD tools there were two updates this week to those

Asticles
01-13-2018, 05:11 AM
Thanks LW3DG! Congrats!

MAUROCOR
01-13-2018, 05:26 AM
Why there isnīt an uninstaller in lw2018 or lw2018.1?

3dworks
01-13-2018, 05:54 AM
in 2018 OSX there is.

MAUROCOR
01-13-2018, 05:58 AM
in 2018 OSX there is.


:confused:

Skonk
01-13-2018, 06:03 AM
On Windows just go to the "Add or Remove Programs" thing and it's listed in there and can be uninstalled (quick way, hit your windows key and type 'add' and it will find it).

Cageman
01-13-2018, 06:05 AM
Why there isnīt an uninstaller in lw2018 or lw2018.1?

Under Windows 10 there is one for LW 2018....

139401

rustythe1
01-13-2018, 06:17 AM
in 2018 OSX there is.

yes, there were lists of fixes for that including installer and shows In my account, not sure if they updated the demo ones yet though

MAUROCOR
01-13-2018, 06:25 AM
Thank you guys. It is true. Is there indeed.

gar26lw
01-13-2018, 06:49 AM
ah newtek, that’s the spirit! good stuff to see bug fixes.

ianr
01-13-2018, 07:38 AM
Deep Joy, as the Chuck wagon rolls into Town ! lol

JamesCurtis
01-13-2018, 10:31 AM
Trial does have the update.

Installed after uninstalling of initial version. I'll be playing with it all day today. Really glad it's a long weekend.

Dan Ritchie
01-13-2018, 10:39 AM
Is the trial version covered by the .1 update?

JamesCurtis
01-13-2018, 10:42 AM
Yes, it's 2018.0.1

jaf
01-13-2018, 10:58 AM
Does this update require an uninstall (of 2018) and then you have to reload/reconfigure plugins?

Matt
01-13-2018, 11:00 AM
Why there isnīt an uninstaller in lw2018 or lw2018.1?

There is. In the place where you installed 2018

Matt
01-13-2018, 11:01 AM
Does this update require an uninstall (of 2018) and then you have to reload/reconfigure plugins?

2018.0.1 installs in its own folder

Greenlaw
01-13-2018, 11:19 AM
It creates a new 2018.0.1 config folder in your User folder, so you'll probably want re-scan your third-party 2018 plugins and transfer some settings, presets, third-party license keys, etc. E.g., I saved out my custom menu settings from 2018 Layout and Modeler, and loaded them into 2018.0.1 Layout and Modeler. No biggie.

Don't copy your configs from 2018 directly to 2018.0.1. It's safer to take the time set up new configs manually. Remember to backup of your configs when you're done.

Also, if you just ran 2018, make sure you close it and the 2018 Hub before customizing 2018.0.1.

It's possible to keep 2018 alongside 2018.0.1 if you want, but I don't think there's any reason to. I'm probably going to remove mine later today.

jaf
01-13-2018, 11:24 AM
Thanks Matt. Seems like I spend more time updating/installing/configuring than actually using the software (and each seems to have a different way of doing it!)
... and Greenlaw

I have LWCAD 5.5 which installs quite easily now (and did.) I'm new to OD Tools though, but Oliver had a nice readme file that clearly went through the installation. Funny, I was just going to ask how I would know if there were updates to OD Tools, but thought I'd check my emails, and sure enough, there was an update notice!

Greenlaw
01-13-2018, 12:05 PM
Yeah, Oliver sends out updates often. He's a mad man. :)

Kryslin
01-13-2018, 12:37 PM
Under windows, I use a junction point creator; I install my 2018 plugins to their own folder, and create a junction point under ../support/plugins for the 2018 plugin folder.

I still hadn't gotten most of my menus transferred over from 2015 yet!

grabiller
01-13-2018, 12:44 PM
I'm duplicating this message here as I think it is important for you to know, just in case:

[WARNING] [2018.0.1-Windows] [Regression: LW does not respect -c command line argument anymore]

If you use the -c command line argument with LW be aware that it creates a mess with v2018.0.1
It does not create a folder with the name you give but a file without extension, and several other files and config and presets folders at the same level.

Not Good!

--- update ---

It is worst than that: Once you've launched/quit Layout, then if you start Modeler its layout is completely messed up with a column full of button on the left and only one Tab on top: "Additional".

Yet I don't see the files LW2018.0.1-64.CFG or LW2018.0.1-64.CFG anywhere, all the config information are written in to a file without extension of name the name given in the -c command line argument. Both Layout and Modeler overwrite the same file, hence the mess..

This is a showstopper to me, can't use Lightwave v2018.0.1 yet : /

Myagi
01-13-2018, 01:22 PM
Is there a change list somewhere?

grabiller
01-13-2018, 01:33 PM
Is there a change list somewhere?

In your account, where you download the installer.

Myagi
01-13-2018, 03:52 PM
I download the trial from the public web page :)

I'll see if anything is can be found in my account. Thanks.

Signal to Noise
01-13-2018, 05:54 PM
Any one else bother reading the Change Log ReadMe file?

"LightWave 2018.0.1 (Build 3064) Final Release Change Log - Jam 12, 2018"

"Jam"??? Oh dear. I hope the actual LW coding is more reliable. ;)

Marander
01-14-2018, 04:56 AM
Ok based on the fact that NewTek has provided a timely update that fixes the OpenGL stutter in 2018 and lots of other bugs...

... I have upgraded now to 2018 and purchased the OD Tools & OD PieMenu

Looking forward for UI fixes like the Objects Properties dialog now.

TheLexx
01-14-2018, 04:58 AM
Ok based on the fact that NewTek has provided a timely update that fixes the OpenGL stutter in 2018 and lots of other bugs...

... I have upgraded now to 2018 and purchased the OD Tools & OD PieMenu

Looking forward for UI fixes like the Objects Properties dialog now.

Welcome back friend. :)

THIBAULT
01-14-2018, 05:31 AM
Seems we haven't "DefaultSegmentMemory" in LW2018.0.1-64 ! Where can we change this value ?
Thanks

gar26lw
01-14-2018, 06:14 AM
in the note it says it wasn’t needed.

rustythe1
01-14-2018, 06:15 AM
Seems we haven't "DefaultSegmentMemory" in LW2018.0.1-64 ! Where can we change this value ?
Thanks

the render engine no longer uses it so the settings in the config file were a placebo left over from past lightwave,

ianr
01-14-2018, 07:30 AM
the render engine no longer uses it so the settings in the config file were a placebo left over from past lightwave,


Deep Joy Good!

Marander
01-14-2018, 07:38 AM
Welcome back friend. :)

Thank you very much Lexx :)

Chris S. (Fez)
01-14-2018, 09:18 AM
Love the refined .1 renderer and viewports.

Love the speed and accessibility of the new modifier stack. Though primitive by comparison to other programs, the stack makes it easy to edit and non-destructively experiment and layer displacements and deformers and such.

The .01 patch shows a promising commitment to quality, communication and 3rd party support. Newtek seems to be working directly with Origami Digital to ensure the OD tools are the best they can be. I can only assume they are also working to ensure Octane is fully supported.

Please reach out to Richard at IFW and make a deal. Please encourage and support DPont.

At the rate that the renderer and viewports are improving, I think LW will be tough to beat for price and performance.

But I do feel they should keep focus on keeping Lightwave fast and fun to use. The default settings for Draft mode should be blazingly optimized and progressive production rendering should be added ASAP. Maybe even look to G2 workflows for leveraging the new 2018 buffers for quick easy composites and editing of passes.

Not quite Arnold renderer but closing in terms of production renders. For interactive rendering and nodal surfacing LW 2018 is much faster and easier to iterate.

Keep it up Newtek. A steal at $295, especially considering the improvements in the first patch. Support the cause if you can folks.

rustythe1
01-14-2018, 09:52 AM
The .01 patch shows a promising commitment to quality, communication and 3rd party support. Newtek seems to be working directly with Origami Digital to ensure the OD tools are the best they can be. I can only assume they are also working to ensure Octane is fully supported.


yes, it seems they did a lot to help OD tools in this patch as he also released another update that LWG fixed some issues and also removed several dependences that were needed, and i think he has also posted on FB today that there is another update with more new tools!

creacon
01-14-2018, 10:30 AM
Where do you get that message from? Everything seems to work like it did before.
create a folder "test" on drive D: for example
add -cD:\test

creacon


I'm duplicating this message here as I think it is important for you to know, just in case:

[WARNING] [2018.0.1-Windows] [Regression: LW does not respect -c command line argument anymore]

If you use the -c command line argument with LW be aware that it creates a mess with v2018.0.1
It does not create a folder with the name you give but a file without extension, and several other files and config and presets folders at the same level.

Not Good!

--- update ---

It is worst than that: Once you've launched/quit Layout, then if you start Modeler its layout is completely messed up with a column full of button on the left and only one Tab on top: "Additional".

Yet I don't see the files LW2018.0.1-64.CFG or LW2018.0.1-64.CFG anywhere, all the config information are written in to a file without extension of name the name given in the -c command line argument. Both Layout and Modeler overwrite the same file, hence the mess..

This is a showstopper to me, can't use Lightwave v2018.0.1 yet : /

MichaelT
01-14-2018, 12:09 PM
Ok based on the fact that NewTek has provided a timely update that fixes the OpenGL stutter in 2018 and lots of other bugs...

... I have upgraded now to 2018 and purchased the OD Tools & OD PieMenu

Looking forward for UI fixes like the Objects Properties dialog now.

:thumbsup: Don't forget to use the help->Submit Bug & Feature menus, as that is how things will get done from now on :)

grabiller
01-14-2018, 12:14 PM
Where do you get that message from? Everything seems to work like it did before.
create a folder "test" on drive D: for example
add -cD:\test

creacon

You are a victim of the "not seen, not exist" syndrome.

Not having seen an Alien in your life does not mean they don't exist ;)

http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?155330-LightWave-2018-Announcement-Discussion-Thread&p=1533288&viewfull=1#post1533288

MichaelT
01-14-2018, 12:16 PM
just in case any of you missed, 2018.0.1 update has been in the downloads for a day or so, lots of fixes (should speed up renders as it addresses lots of gi issues)

- - - Updated - - -

also any of you with OD tools there were two updates this week to those

Great, but it would've been even greater to get a mail when they release new patches though :)

prometheus
01-14-2018, 12:51 PM
In the 2018.01 release..the Rotation of viewports by the navigation icons are now working smoothly and do not stutter as it did with the 2018.0 release
VPR now renders much faster...Interpolated much faster than previously, and brute force, raising to 17 rays iterates much faster than 1 ray, so still the mystery there as discussed in another thread about VPR speed.

These small improvement changes definitely makes the upgrade or not upgrade balancing to the upgrade choice for me, previous VPR speed wasnīt tolerable for me, now they are, though itīs not revolutionary in speed.

Working with volumetric lights seem faster as well, impressive lights, except for I so longed for a true distant light sunlight to work with volumetric scattering along with a proper sky model (gotta love daz sunsky and sunlight dial and spectral rendering of the sky..with interactive rendering with blooming!!) got to record that some day.

Photogram
01-14-2018, 01:16 PM
VPR now renders much faster...Interpolated much faster than previously, and brute force, raising to 17 rays iterates much faster than 1 ray

Yeah it seem to render faster!

Something has changed in the global illumination. Here is a snapshot taken in both LW2018 version. (VPR and Final Render)
This is the same project saved in LW2018.0 and loaded as is in LW2018.0.1
The illumination has changed drastically!
139437139438139439

On another subject, i experiencing this strange problem:
Lightwave or Modeler are continuously stop responding for about a second or two each time i switch back from another software.
For example coming back from Photoshop or from Windows 10 desktop then i click anywhere in any Layout windows and it instantly become not responsive...

That's very annoying :( i hope this is a Windows 10 problem or graphic card i will check for a solution.
139440

prometheus
01-14-2018, 01:25 PM
Noticed that the fracture tool is gone in layout, it has no dedicated menu or button, searched for the voronoi fracture, added it to a new Destroy section in the fx tab, it returns a lot of error messages in the process, it gets fractured though, and it works within bullet.

Photogram
01-14-2018, 02:13 PM
i think i found a bug in the new update ...

Now the default Backdrop is activated even if i uncheck the gradient backdrop or uncheck sunsky environement.

It seem stuck in a default backdrop and even i change the gradient colors of the Backdrop no changes occurs...

That explain why the colors has changed in my renders..

Edit: forget that now it is working... i really don't understand what's happen but i was editing the Backdrops and no diffence was updating in the VPR until i activate again one of the light in the scene..

prometheus
01-14-2018, 02:21 PM
i think i found a bug in the new update ...

Now the default Backdrop is activated even in not tick or another environement added or a Backdrop color is choosen...

It seem stuck in a default backdrop and even i change the gradient colors of the Backdrop no changes occurs...

That explain why the colors has changed in my renders..

I have no problems with that, backdrop gradient uncheck check works, as well as changing gradient color squeeze as well, and backdrop color changes works as it should, and use background color in compositing tab as well, sunsky environment and texture environment seem to work as they should.
Edit..missed photograms update :)

Photogram
01-14-2018, 02:26 PM
VPR is much faster!

rustythe1
01-14-2018, 02:50 PM
Yeah it seem to render faster!

Something has changed in the global illumination. Here is a snapshot taken in both LW2018 version. (VPR and Final Render)
This is the same project saved in LW2018.0 and loaded as is in LW2018.0.1
The illumination has changed drastically!
139437139438139439

On another subject, i experiencing this strange problem:
Lightwave or Modeler are continuously stop responding for about a second or two each time i switch back from another software.
For example coming back from Photoshop or from Windows 10 desktop then i click anywhere in any Layout windows and it instantly become not responsive...

That's very annoying :( i hope this is a Windows 10 problem or graphic card i will check for a solution.
139440

yea, i noticed this too, also if you open modeller and layout, don't open an object, bring layout to the front, then bring modeller to the front and modeller will do it for about 4 seconds even though there is nothing to sync

Greenlaw
01-14-2018, 02:55 PM
Noticed that the fracture tool is gone in layout, it has no dedicated menu or button, searched for the voronoi fracture, added it to a new Destroy section in the fx tab, it returns a lot of error messages in the process, it gets fractured though, and it works within bullet.

I think Fracture was removed from the Layout 2018 menus because it was no longer compatible.

However, the one in Modeler 2018 still works. I always use the Modeler version because it has a few more capabilities. Plus, if errors are generated, you're already there to fix them.

Maybe the plan is to bring them back to Layout eventually? If so, I hope it's replaced with something better. Fracture served me well enough through many movies and TV shows, but I always had to model specifically for this tool to avoid boolean errors.

Photogram
01-14-2018, 03:15 PM
Overall the new update give better GI results with less Diffuse Bounces.
Sample Backdrop and ISBG now give better results in my case so i checked them!
Noise Reduction Filter now is working better!

creacon
01-14-2018, 04:33 PM
I have tested it and it works here, two differences with your setup:

- My path is a lot shorter
- I never use . in directory names, you did in the new version not in the old version.

creacon



You are a victim of the "not seen, not exist" syndrome.

Not having seen an Alien in your life does not mean they don't exist ;)

http://forums.newtek.com/showthread.php?155330-LightWave-2018-Announcement-Discussion-Thread&p=1533288&viewfull=1#post1533288

grabiller
01-14-2018, 05:15 PM
I have tested it and it works here, two differences with your setup:

- My path is a lot shorter
- I never use . in directory names, you did in the new version not in the old version.

creacon

As mentioned in the other thread I've tried without '.' and still no luck. Path length is working fine with LW v2018.

calilifestyle
01-15-2018, 12:50 AM
Do you have install the update on the nodes for Network render controls

Exception
01-16-2018, 03:54 PM
Yeah it seem to render faster!

Something has changed in the global illumination. Here is a snapshot taken in both LW2018 version. (VPR and Final Render)
139440


I don't know if someone answered yet, but one of the bug fixed in 2018.0.1 is a lighting difference between interpolated GI and pure MC when HDR backdrops are in use.
This may be a result of fixing that bug?

I have noticed a brightness difference myself as well though, still, without using a HDR backdrop.

Compare this MC 8 ray / 16 AA render with this Interpolated 8 ray / 16 render. The brightness difference could be due to smoothing out the illumination, but.... I don;t know, it seems a bit much to me.
Interpolated in this scene does help make the render manageable and okay looking at ~5 minutes, for a 28 minute MC render.

139484
139485

gar26lw
01-16-2018, 04:25 PM
I don't know if someone answered yet, but one of the bug fixed in 2018.0.1 is a lighting difference between interpolated GI and pure MC when HDR backdrops are in use.
This may be a result of fixing that bug?

I have noticed a brightness difference myself as well though, still, without using a HDR backdrop.

Compare this MC 8 ray / 16 AA render with this Interpolated 8 ray / 16 render. The brightness difference could be due to smoothing out the illumination, but.... I don;t know, it seems a bit much to me.
Interpolated in this scene does help make the render manageable and okay looking at ~5 minutes, for a 28 minute MC render.

139484
139485

I would be very interested in your opinion on the renderer and the lighting, surfacing and nodes in general. Step up/in the right direction? workflow ok? settings layout and grouping? light types? render speed, vpr speed, overall quality.

cheers

MichaelT
01-16-2018, 05:09 PM
I'm really happy they are reacting as fast as they have. Let's hope this is a permanent thing.. short iterations is a good thing.

JamesCurtis
01-16-2018, 10:58 PM
Agreed!

calilifestyle
01-16-2018, 11:20 PM
Anyone have a problem with the sample scene of cel alien landing bay. with 2018.1 . It just locks up on it.

JamesCurtis
01-17-2018, 09:02 AM
I'll check this if I get a chance.

NeonZ
01-17-2018, 06:07 PM
Yeah it seem to render faster!

Something has changed in the global illumination. Here is a snapshot taken in both LW2018 version. (VPR and Final Render)
This is the same project saved in LW2018.0 and loaded as is in LW2018.0.1. The illumination has changed drastically!


Yeah, I ran a test render of the Jade Dragon sample scene in 2018.0 and 2018.0.1 to see if render times were affected. Only 12 seconds after a 17m render. Anyway, the image differences surprised me, so here they are for review:

139547139548

gar26lw
01-17-2018, 08:23 PM
Yeah, I ran a test render of the Jade Dragon sample scene in 2018.0 and 2018.0.1 to see if render times were affected. Only 12 seconds after a 17m render. Anyway, the image differences surprised me, so here they are for review:

139547139548

it would be interesting to compare that scene with other renderers too, to see how things look. not to have a mine is better than yours argument but to see what things should look like.

rustythe1
01-18-2018, 05:02 AM
ok, another update in your downloads, just a hotfix this time for fibrefx, so no new version and need to update configs etc

Verlon
01-18-2018, 09:22 AM
looks around for the installer option for "-aw c'mon now. I just got my plugins and congifgs set up how I like"

Thans for all the improvements though :)