PDA

View Full Version : Motion Mixer problem

Philbert
12-15-2017, 10:59 PM
I have to do an animation with a character running. Now I don't do much character animation but I could do this. Then I remembered Motion Mixer, which I've never used before. So I made a run with 2 steps over 30 frames, added it to Motion Mixer and used Offset Repeat to continue the run motion until frame 120. For the first 30 frames it's fine but after that the limbs start going a little wonky and it gets progressively worse for the length the animation. Anyone know why that might be happening?

gar26lw
12-16-2017, 01:38 AM
not sure, try these

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=6seaO4l80K0

and more from bugzilla. brent’s stuff:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=76ghMjPeXpo

additionally -

animation layers
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=8bsuK2iduoc

animation, walk cycle and mdd

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=uhvRfxrsUpQ

daforum
12-16-2017, 01:48 AM
Ha! gar26lw you beat me to it. I was just about to post those links too :)

Looking at your image if i remember correctly you have to select ALL the bones first then "create actor" maybe that's the reason not all the bones are working?
Or you just have to repeat the clip ( ie: duplicate it in the motion mixer timeline ) not use offset repeat?

hypersuperduper
12-16-2017, 02:00 AM
offset repeat isn’t the right postbehavior is it? Isn’t there a regular repeat? You shouldn’t need to manually repeat the clip.

VermilionCat
12-16-2017, 02:07 AM
How about stop using offset repeat. Just repeat the motion and move the master null?

Philbert
12-16-2017, 02:23 AM
Those are actually the videos I watched to learn about it. :) I added it by first selecting all the bones and creating the actor, then selecting all the objects and adding them. The odd thing is that he mostly runs OK, it's just a little wonky like something with the IK or the controller objects aren't moving exactly right.

Here's preview video